Derbyshire All-Time Twenty20 XI

Tuesday 7th November 2023
& News
Photography by: Getty

Derbyshire’s all-time best Twenty20 XI, as voted on by supporters, has been confirmed.

Over a two-week period, supporters had their say on who to pick for their All-Time Falcons XI, with hundreds of entries submitted. We’ve tallied up the votes to create an exceptional T20 side.

The selection for bowling slots were tightly contested right up until the final few submissions, with some players missing out by narrow margins.

Honourable mentions must go to George Scrimshaw, who took 57 wickets for the Falcons, but missed out on making the team, coming up two votes short of New Zealand’s Lockie Ferguson, who is currently strutting his stuff at the ICC World Cup.

Shan Masood and Luis Reece were also agonisingly short of making the XI, both left-handed batters missing out by the matter of a few votes.

Wayne Madsen was selected by all but two submissions, which we think must have been a mis-click during the submission process!

Derbyshire’s all-time leading T20 run-scorer was selected by the vast majority to captain the side, with no other player getting near his 67% of the vote.

Twelfth man duties have been awarded to Reece, who pipped Scrimshaw by one vote, and Anuj Dal by two. Another honourable mention must go to Heritage Officer, David Griffin, who was selected in two entries to be part of the side!

The team is as follows:

  1. Martin Guptill (57%)
  2. Wes Durston (47%)
  3. Wayne Madsen (99%)
  4. Leus du Plooy (85%)
  5. Matt Critchley (78%)
  6. Brooke Guest (71%)
  7. Alex Hughes (57%)
  8. Zak Chappell (42%)
  9. Lockie Ferguson (48%)
  10. Ravi Rampaul (70%)
  11. Imran Tahir (55%)

The Twelfth man is Luis Reece.

Blast Pass 2024 – Register Now!

The Vitality Blast returns in 2024, and with Blast Pass, you can secure your place at every Derbyshire Falcons home fixture, as Vitality Blast winners Samit Patel, Mohammad Amir, Aneurin Donald and Pat Brown join Mickey Arthur’s ranks for the new campaign.

Blast Pass gives you access to all seven Derbyshire Falcons home games, including the East Midlands Derby against Notts Outlaws and the huge fixture against Yorkshire Vikings, plus a host of added benefits.

Fill in the form below to register your interest, and advantage of a price freeze once Blast Pass goes on sale!

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners