CRICKET DERBYSHIRE ACADEMY IN PARTNERSHIP WITH THE UNIVERSITY OF DERBY

Established in September 2003, the Cricket Derbyshire Academy in partnership with the University of Derby gives talented young cricketers an unparalleled opportunity to benefit from professional cricket training and education whilst still at school or college.

The Academy aims to make the club self-sufficient in terms of bringing through our own home-grown players and preparing them for a future in the professional game.

WHAT HAPPENS AT THE ACADEMY?

The Academy training season takes place during the winter months; commencing in early November through to April. Each week the Academy players attend sessions to develop their skills through group and individual work.

The Academy syllabus incorporates classroom based tuition including cricket knowledge, the principles of strength & conditioning, nutrition, sports psychology and performance lifestyle training alongside the practical coaching sessions; fielding and in the nets.

ONGOING SUPPORT

Year-round support includes ongoing visits from the Sports Psychologist and Personal Development & Welfare Staff during the summer months.

During the cricket season the Academy play around 20 days of cricket as an Academy side. They attend occasional practice sessions and individual sessions are always available.

ACADEMY FIXTURES

Date Opponent Venue Competition
Sunday 17th April Ticknall Ticknall CC Friendly
Monday 2nd May Chesterfield Queen’s Park, Chesterfield Twenty20
Wednesday 18th May Leicestershire Leicester Grammar School Friendly
Wednesday 8th June Leicestershire TBC Friendly
Sunday 19th June England PD Lullington CC 2x Twenty20s
Wed 29th – Thurs 30th June Warwickshire U19s Walmley CC Six Counties Cup
Sunday 3rd July Ticknall Ticknall CC Prem Cup
Thursday 7th July The Army Denby CC Friendly
Thurs 21st – Fri 22nd July Middlesex U19s TBC Six Counties Cup
Mon 8th – Tues 9th August Lancashire U19s Glossop CC Six Counties Cup
Wednesday 10th August Staffordshire Moddershall CC Friendly
Wed 17th – Thurs 18th August Yorkshire U19s Treeton CC Six Counties Cup
Wed 31st Aug – Thurs 1st Sept Durham U19s Marehay CC Six Counties Cup


Please leave this field empty.