Pre-Match Pack: Glamorgan

Tuesday 19th June 2018
Written by Danny Painter

Derbyshire have named a 14-man squad for the Specsavers County Championship match away to Glamorgan at Swansea, starting on Wednesday 20 June; 11am start.

Billy Godleman’s side will be aiming to bounce back from defeat to Durham against the side which they recorded a 39-run win last summer, with Hamidullah Qadri returning match figures of 6-76 on debut in Cardiff.

He is included in the squad to provide a further spin option, alongside all-rounder Matt Critchley.

The leg spinner joins up with Derbyshire after representing an ECB Development XI against India A at Emerald Headingley on Sunday, alongside teammate Ben Slater.

The pair starred with the bat, finishing with the two highest scores against a strong India A side. Coming in at three, Slater struck 37, including six fours and one six, whilst Critchley struck 40 and bowled seven overs at an economy rate of 6.14.

Gary Wilson returns from international duty with Ireland, having averaged 42.66 in four T20 matches with a top-score of 58 in their Tri-Series against Netherlands and Scotland.

He is set to take the gloves, whilst Harvey Hosein provides a further batting option in the absence of Luis Reece, who remains unavailable following successful surgery on a broken metatarsal in his right foot.

Duanne Olivier is expected to lead the Derbyshire bowling attack, having taken 26 wickets in the campaign so far, at an impressive average of 23.57, with best match figures of 10-125.

Derbyshire Squad

1. Billy Godleman
26. Ben Slater
77. Wayne Madsen
18. Alex Hughes
19. Callum Brodrick
20. Matt Critchley
16. Harvey Hosein
14. Gary Wilson
7. Hardus Viljoen
28. Tony Palladino
41. Ravi Rampaul
74. Duanne Olivier
75. Hamidullah Qadri
17. Alfie Gleadall


Glamorgan sit ninth in Specsavers County Championship Division Two, 11 points behind Derbyshire in sixth.

The Welsh side have won one, lost three and drawn one in their five fixtures in the format to date. They welcome Derbyshire having narrowly lost to Warwickshire by four wickets last time out, largely inflicted by two unbeaten centuries from Ian Bell.

Usman Khawaja, who had previously impressed at Derbyshire during a stint as overseas batsman, is set to slot into the middle-order for Glamorgan and hit 125 in the defeat at Edgbaston.

Andrew Salter provides a spin option, whilst Timm van der Gugten is set to lead the pace attack.

Glamorgan Squad: Hogan (c), Selman, Lloyd, Khawaja, Murphy, Carlson, Morgan, Salter, Cooke, Carey, Sisodiya, Lawlor.

Vitality Blast is back! Derbyshire Falcons host seven Twenty20 games this July and August. Purchase your tickets in advance and save from £4. Buy online or call 01332 388 101.


Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners