Squad named for Championship opener

Friday 17th April 2015
Written by Danny Painter

Graeme Welch has named a 13-man squad for the LV= County Championship opener against Lancashire at The 3aaa County Ground, starting on Sunday.

New Zealand international Martin Guptill will make his return to Derby and will hope to maintain his dazzling form after hitting an unbeaten 161 off 108 balls against Cambridge MCCU last week.

Tony Palladino, who missed the victory at Fenner’s, returns to the squad, while Shiv Thakor is in line to make his first-class debut for the Club after joining from Leicestershire in the close season.

Chesney Hughes is also included in the squad after he missed the university fixture, but Jonathan Clare and David Wainwright are still absent through injury

DERBYSHIRE squad in full to play Lancashire:

1. Billy Godleman
26. Ben Slater
31. Martin Guptill
77. Wayne Madsen
3. Wes Durston
22. Chesney Hughes
57. Shiv Thakor
18. Alex Hughes
16. Harvey Hosein
15. Tom Taylor
36. Ben Cotton
28. Tony Palladino
4. Mark Footitt

The appointment of Ashley Giles as Director of Cricket, following Mike Watkinson’s departure in the close season, signifies a fresh approach for Lancashire.

The Club’s 2014 Player of the Year Tom Smith is the new Club Captain, as Glen Chapple moves into his player-coach role, and he will be looking to stamp his mark on a team looking to bounce back following relegation from Division One.

They have secured the signing of Peter Siddle, who will be available for this week’s fixture, while Alviro Petersen will provide some class and experience at the top of the order. Fellow former South Africa batsman Ashwell Prince will also feature for the Red Rose County.

Lancashire, who won the Division Two title in 2013, will be aiming to start their campaign well as they target an immediate return to Division One.

LANCASHIRE squad to face Derbyshire:

24. Tom Smith (C)
8. Tom Bailey
11. Nathan Buck
16. Jordan Clark
15. Steven Croft
17. Alex Davies (W)
20. Paul Horton
27. Kyle Jarvis
10. Simon Kerrigan
73. Alviro Petersen
5. Ashwell Prince
21. Luis Reece
12. Peter Siddle

We go back to 2005 for the last time Derbyshire and Lancashire met in the four-day format, and it was a low-scoring thriller with the visitors Lancashire scraping home.

Lancashire arrived with the likes of Muttiah Muralitharan, James Anderson and Brad Hodge in their ranks, as well as former Derbyshire Captain Dominic Cork.

Derbyshire elected to bat first and were bowled out for 191, with Cork taking 4-40 on his old stamping ground. He then showed his capability with the bat as he top-scored with 64 in the visitors’ first-innings total of 241.

Derbyshire responded by posting 185 in their second innings, with Muralitharan starring with the ball to claim 6-50 in his 27 overs, setting Lancashire 136 to win.

Jonathan Moss (4-40) and Ian Hunter (3-29) took wickets at regular intervals for Derbyshire to set up a tense finish, with both sides pushing for victory.

Opener Iain Sutcliffe, however, remained at the crease to hit an unbeaten 62 as he and last man in Muralitharan edged Lancashire over the finishing line, claiming a one-wicket victory.

  • Derbyshire’s first ever first-class fixture was against Lancashire at Old Trafford on May 26, 1871.
    • Derbyshire bowled the home team out for just 25 in the first innings, with Derbyshire bowler Dove Gregory taking 6-9 off 12.3 overs.
    • Derbyshire eventually won the game by an innings and 11 runs
    • Only 283 runs were scored in the match, but it lasted for a total of 195 overs


Supporters can make savings of up to £4 by purchasing tickets in advance of the game either online, over the phone or in person at The 3aaa County Ground.

Discounts for all four days will only apply if purchased 24 hours before Day One of an LV= County Championship match.

Further discounts remain in place for juniors while children under the age of 5 can attend any Derbyshire home fixture in 2015 for FREE.

You can buy tickets:

  • Online. Click here to buy tickets online>>>
  • On the phone by calling the Ticket Hotline on 0871 350 1870.
  • In person at The 3aaa Pavilion; Nottingham Road, Derby, DE21 6DA.

You can follow live updates on Twitter (@DerbyshireCCC) by using the #DERvLAN hashtag, plus regular updates will be available on Facebook throughout the day.

Supporters can also listen to live ball-by-ball commentary with BBC Radio Derby online.

There’s still time for supporters to purchase Membership, Six Packs and matchday tickets for the 2015 season; either over the phone by calling 0871 350 1870, online HERE or in person at The 3aaa County Ground; Grandstand Road, Derby, DE21 6AF.

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners