Dilshan in squad for home T20 Blast opener

Thursday 28th May 2015
Written by Danny Painter

Sri Lanka batsman Tillakaratne Dilshan is set to make his Derbyshire Falcons debut tomorrow, as Lancashire Lightning visit The 3aaa County Ground in the NatWest T20 Blast; 7pm start.

Dilshan will arrive in Derby today and goes straight into Graeme Welch’s 13-man squad, enabling him to line-up alongside South Africa Test Captain Hashim Amla.

The 38-year-old batting all-rounder is part of two changes to the squad that made the trip to Grace Road last Friday, with Tony Palladino also coming in as Mark Footitt and Greg Cork make way.

Wayne White is in contention to feature for the first time in 2015 as he was named in the matchday squad for this fixture.

Chesney Hughes will be looking to continue his good form with the bat after he struck 59 from 44 balls against Leicestershire last time out, as will Billy Godleman, who made a handy 38 from 33 balls.

Wayne Madsen, Nathan Rimmington, Alex Hughes and Jonathan Clare all remain absent through injury.

DERBYSHIRE FALCONS squad to play Lancashire Lightning:

99. Hashim Amla
5. Tillakaratne Dilshan
3. Wes Durston (capt)
22. Chesney Hughes
10. Scott Elstone
1. Billy Godleman
57. Shiv Thakor
23. Tom Poynton
21. David Wainwright
11. Wayne White
28. Tony Palladino
36. Ben Cotton
27. Tom Knight

Lancashire Lightning will be hoping to go one better in the NatWest T20 Blast this year, after they were losing finalists to Birmingham Bears in 2014.

The Red Rose County have tasted both victory and defeat in their opening two fixtures this time around, beating Leicestershire Foxes in a last-ball thriller before suffering a narrow 16-run defeat to Durham Jets last time out.

Australia all-rounder and World Cup winner James Faulkner is set to make his Lancashire debut, and enters the fixture fresh from his spell with the Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League.

South Africa international Ashwell Prince comes into the game in stupendous form, hitting 78 from 51 balls in the defeat to Durham before scoring 230 against Derbyshire in the LV= County Championship earlier this week.

England duo Jos Buttler and James Anderson will be unavailable as they are on international duty. Tom Smith returns from injury to lead his side.

LANCASHIRE LIGHTNING squad to face Derbyshire Falcons:

24. Tom Smith (capt)
8. Tom Bailey
14. Karl Brown
16. Jordan Clark
15. Steven Croft
17. Alex Davies
22. George Edwards
26. James Faulkner
20. Paul Horton
—- Rob Jones
19. Arron Lilley
7. Liam Livingstone
4. Stephen Parry
5. Ashwell Prince

Tickets are still available for the eagerly-anticipated opener and supporters who buy their tickets 24 hours in advance of the game will save £4 per ticket. Best value for adults, however, can be found through one of our popular Six Pack Tickets which grants entry to any six days of cricket for just £72.

For this fixtures, the Club is also offering a special student ticket, for those with a valid NUS card, for just £5.

New for 2015 is the ‘Double the Action Ticket’ that allows supporters to attend two successive fixtures for £25, saving £15 from buying tickets on the gate for both encounters.

Bring your mates and save with out group discount offer when you buy 10 or more tickets in one transaction. For more information, please call 0871 350 1870.

There are no booking fees for all forms of cricket.

You can buy tickets:

In person at The 3aaa County Ground; Nottingham Road, Derby, DE21 6DA.

You can follow live updates on Twitter (@DerbyshireCCC) by using the #DERvLAN hashtag, plus regular updates will be available on Facebook throughout the match.

Supporters can also listen to live ball-by-ball commentary with BBC Radio Derby online.

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners