Welch names squad for Cardiff trip

Saturday 2nd May 2015
Written by Danny Painter

Graeme Welch has named a 12-man squad to face Glamorgan at the SWALEC Stadium, starting on Sunday 3 May. 

Scott Elstone, fresh from a century for the Second XI this week, and David Wainwright have been added to the squad that beat Gloucestershire last week to replace Martin Guptill and Wes Durston who both miss out through injury.

Wainwright could make his first appearance this summer after recently returning from injury, while Chesney Hughes is set to replace Billy Godleman, who is suspended, at the top of order after impressing in the Second XI against Glamorgan Second XI this week, hitting 88 in the first innings.

Mark Footitt will be looking to continue his good form after he claimed nine wickets in the match against Gloucestershire, including 6-94 in the second innings.The same goes for youngsters Shiv Thakor (83) and Harvey Hosein (61) who both scored their maiden first-class half-centuries for Derbyshire in the seven-wicket win at Bristol.

Wayne White misses out through injury, but Jonathan Clare has stepped up his return after returning to light training with the squad.

DERBYSHIRE squad in full to play Glamorgan:
22. Chesney Hughes
26. Ben Slater
77. Wayne Madsen
10. Scott Elstone
57. Shiv Thakor
18. Alex Hughes
16. Harvey Hosein
21. David Wainwright
28. Tony Palladino
15. Tom Taylor
4. Mark Footitt
36. Ben Cotton

Glamorgan head into Sunday’s game on the back of successive draws against Leicestershire and Surrey at the start of their 2015 LV= County Championship campaign.

Captain Jacques Rudolph has started the season in fine form, scoring a fluent 111 against Leicestershire before registering half-centuries in both innings against Surrey last time out.

Glamorgan also have fellow South African batsman Colin Ingram in their ranks, along with former Derbyshire all-rounder Graham Wagg.

Australian fast bowler Michael Hogan, who holds a UK passport, returns from injury to bolster Glamorgan’s attack. Hogan has been a crucial strike bowler for Glamorgan in the last two seasons, claiming 98 wickets in all competitions.

GLAMORGAN squad to face Derbyshire:
3. James Kettleborough
4. Jacques Rudolph
22. Will Bragg
41. Colin Ingram
24. Chris Cooke
18. Mark Wallace
8. Graham Wagg
14. David Lloyd
44. Craig Meschede
23. Dean Cosker
37. Andy Carter
21. Andy Salter
31. Michael Hogan

  • Billy Bestwick recorded Derbyshire’s best ever bowling figures of 10-40 as Derbyshire defeated Glamorgan by two wickets at Cardiff, back in June 1921
    • Bestwick bowled seven batsmen and had three caught to help dismiss Glamorgan for 106 in their second innings.
    • He also took 4-71 in the first innings to claim match figures of 14-111 in a highly economical 49 overs.
    • Derbyshire successfully chased down 193 for the loss of eight wickets to win the match, despite being bowled out for just 83 in their first innings.

You can follow live updates on Twitter (@DerbyshireCCC) by using the #GLAvDER hashtag, plus regular updates will be available on Facebook throughout the day.

Supporters can also listen to live ball-by-ball commentary with BBC Radio Derby online.

There’s still time for supporters to purchase Membership, Six Packs and matchday tickets for the 2015 season; either over the phone by calling 0871 350 1870, online HERE or in person at The 3aaa County Ground; Nottingham Road, Derby, DE21 6DA.

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners