Falcons squad unchanged for Old Trafford

Friday 12th June 2015
Written by Danny Painter

Graeme Welch has named an unchanged squad as his side prepare to face Lancashire Lightning in the NatWest T20 Blast at Old Trafford tonight; 6.30pm start.

The Falcons will be looking to complete a NatWest T20 Blast double over Ashley Giles’ men after winning the reverse fixture by five wickets last month.

Welch’s side suffered a six-wicket loss to Northamptonshire Steelbacks in front of Sky Sports cameras last night, as David Willey smashed 60 from 21 balls to help his side chase down 166 with 13 balls to spare.

Captain Wes Durston hit an unbeaten 77 from 63 balls, with Scott Elstone (37) and Tom Poynton (16) also looking to build on promising performances with the bat. Ben Cotton and Alex Hughes, however, are both still unavailable due to injury.

DERBYSHIRE FALCONS squad to play Lancashire Lightning:

5. Tillakaratne Dilshan
3. Wes Durston (capt)
22. Chesney Hughes
77. Wayne Madsen
10. Scott Elstone
1. Billy Godleman
57. Shiv Thakor
23. Tom Poynton
27. Tom Knight
11. Wayne White
14. Greg Cork
28. Tony Palladino
35. Nathan Rimmington

Last year’s runners up Lancashire Lightning responded to last month’s defeat at The 3aaa County Ground, by defeating Yorkshire Vikings by four wickets in a last-ball thriller in the Roses match at Headingley.

England’s Jos Buttler was their hero on that occasion as he bludgeoned 71 fom 35 balls, hitting five fours and five sixes, to help Lancashire chase down an imposing 185-8.

Buttler is unavailable this time around due to him being on international duty, but Lancashire will once again be able to call upon Australia World Cup winner James Faulkner, and South Africa veteran batsman Ashwell Prince.

The LV= County Championship Division Two table-toppers have had a mixed start to this competition, winning two and losing two in their opening four matches.

LANCASHIRE LIGHTNING squad to face Derbyshire Falcons:

8. Tom Bailey
14. Karl Brown
16. Jordan Clark
15. Steven Croft
17. Alex Davies
26. James Faulkner
18. Gavin Griffiths
20. Paul Horton
—- Rob Jones
19. Arron Lilley
7. Liam Livingstone
4. Stephen Parry
5. Ashwell Prince
25. Saqib Mahmood

You can follow live updates on Twitter (@DerbyshireCCC) by using the #LANvDER hashtag, plus regular updates will be available on Facebook throughout the match.

Supporters can also listen to live ball-by-ball commentary with BBC Radio Derby online.

Derbyshire are back in home NatWest T20 Blast action on Thursday 18 June when they welcome Leicestershire Foxes to The 3aaa County Ground. 

Click here to purchase NatWest T20 Blast tickets >>

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners