Madsen returns to face Steelbacks

Wednesday 10th June 2015
& News
Written by Danny Painter

Wayne Madsen returns from injury and is named in Graeme Welch’s 13-man squad for the NatWest T20 Blast fixture versus Northamptonshire Steelbacks on Thursday; 6.30pm start.

Madsen, who has been absent through injury since the LV= County Championship draw versus Northamptonshire in May, returns to the Falcons squad to face Northants, who are spearheaded by Pakistan all-rounder Shahid Afridi, at Wantage Road.

Madsen is set to boost a Falcons side who are looking to bounce back from a five-run defeat to Durham Jets at Derby last time out. He replaces Ben Cotton in the only change from that game, with the right-arm seam bowler missing out though injury.

Tillakaratne Dilshan once again lines up for the Falcons after taking 2-28 with the ball and scoring 54 with the bat against Durham, with Nathan Rimmington looking to build on an impressive debut in which he took 2-29 from four overs.

DERBYSHIRE FALCONS squad to play Northamptonshire Steelbacks:
5. Tillakaratne Dilshan
3. Wes Durston (capt)
22. Chesney Hughes
77. Wayne Madsen
10. Scott Elstone
1. Billy Godleman
57. Shiv Thakor
23. Tom Poynton
27. Tom Knight
11. Wayne White
14. Greg Cork
28. Tony Palladino
35. Nathan Rimmington

Northamptonshire will be disappointed with the start to their NatWest T20 Blast campaign, as a squad packed full of talent has failed to register a win from the opening three fixtures.

There is undoubted talent in their batting lineup, with South Africa international Richard Levi, who is capable of dismantling bowling attacks in the Powerplay, ably backed up by all-rounders David Willey, Josh Cobb and the mercurial Shahid Afridi.

South Africa bowler Rory Kleinveldt is also a threat of both in both the Powerplay overs and at the end of an innings, as Northamptonshire look to rediscover the form that saw them win the competition just two years ago.

Northamptonshire lost to Worcestershire by 14 runs last time out, with Cobb’s superb 44-ball 80 not enough to chase down an imposing 211-3 with England’s Moeen Ali scoring 90 from 50 balls.

NORTHAMPTONSHIRE STEELBACKS squad to face Derbyshire Falcons:

8. Alex Wakely
6. Rory Kleinveldt
25. Steven Crook
4. Josh Cobb
88. Richard Levi
17. Ben Duckett
92. Muhammad Azharullah
15. David Willey
14. Rob Keogh
9. Olly Stone
87. Graeme White
10. Shahid Afridi

You can follow live updates on Twitter (@DerbyshireCCC) by using the #NORvDER hashtag, plus regular updates will be available on Facebook throughout the match.

Supporters can also listen to live ball-by-ball commentary with BBC Radio Derby online.

Derbyshire are back in home NatWest T20 Blast action on Thursday 18 June when they welcome Leicestershire Foxes to The 3aaa County Ground. 

Click here to purchase NatWest T20 Blast tickets >>

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners