PREVIEW: Rutherford set to make Falcons bow

Friday 19th June 2015
Written by Danny Painter

New Zealand batsman Hamish Rutherford is set to make his Derbyshire Falcons debut against Worcestershire Rapids in the NatWest T20 Blast at New Road tonight; 5.30 start.

The 26-year-old has arrived as a replacement for Tillakaratne Dilshan who heads off to the Caribbean Premier League, and will be available for seven NatWest T20 Blast fixtures, as well as three games in the LV= County Championship and four Royal London One Day Cup matches.

Greg Cork also returns to the squad as Graeme Welch names an extra bowler in a 13-man squad to face the North Group table-toppers.

There are otherwise no other changes from the squad that defeated Leicestershire Foxes by 17 runs last night, where Captain Wes Durston scored 88 from 49 balls to inspire his team to victory.

Ben Cotton remains out of action through injury, while Tony Palladino is rested with Sunday’s LV= County Championship fixture against Surrey in mind.

DERBYSHIRE FALCONS squad to play Worcestershire Rapids:
72. Hamish Rutherford
3. Wes Durston (capt)
22. Chesney Hughes
77. Wayne Madsen
10. Scott Elstone
1. Billy Godleman
57. Shiv Thakor
18. Alex Hughes
23. Tom Poynton
27. Tom Knight
14. Greg Cork
11. Wayne White
35. Nathan Rimmington

Worcestershire Rapids come into the game on the back of a thrilling two-wicket win over Lancashire Lightning at Old Trafford, with Ben Cox hitting James Faulkner for six off the penultimate ball to clinch victory.

The win moved Worcestershire above Durham Jets to the top of the NatWest T20 Blast North Group, having won four of their opening six matches.

The Rapids have reached the quarter finals of the competition on four occasions, but are yet to reach a finals day despite coming close several times.

England’s Moeen Ali opens the batting alongside Captain Daryl Mitchell, with both batsman capable of hitting boundaries in the Powerplay overs.

New Zealand batsman Colin Munro provides the firepower in the middle order, while Pakistan international Saeed Ajmal is recognised one of the world’s leading spin bowlers.

WORCESTERSHIRE RAPIDS squad to face Derbyshire Falcons:

27. Daryl Mitchell
8. Moeen Ali
43. Richard Oliver
32. Tom Kohler-Cadmore
82. Colin Munro
44. Ross Whiteley
30. Ed Barnard
10. Ben Cox
15. Brett D’Oliveira
23. Joe Leach
11. Jack Shantry
50. Saeed Ajmal

You can follow live updates on Twitter (@DerbyshireCCC) by using the #WORvDER hashtag, plus regular updates will be available on Facebook throughout the match.

Supporters can also listen to live ball-by-ball commentary with BBC Radio Derby online.

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners