Falcons unchanged for final 50-over fixture

Monday 17th August 2015
Written by Danny Painter

Graeme Welch has named an unchanged 13-man squad as Derbyshire Falcons conclude their Royal London One-Day Cup campaign at home to Worcestershire today; 10.30am start.

Derbyshire will be looking to bounce back from the 55-run defeat to Durham on Monday, where Wayne Madsen top scored with 77 in a losing cause.

The Falcons have recorded three wins from seven matches and will be looking to bow out of the competition on a high at The 3aaa County Ground.

DERBYSHIRE FALCONS squad to play Worcestershire:

3. Wes Durston
1. Billy Godleman
5. Tillakaratne Dilshan
77. Wayne Madsen
22. Chesney Hughes
18. Alex Hughes
10. Scott Elstone
57. Shiv Thakor
23. Tom Poynton
20. Matt Critchley
14. Greg Cork
36. Ben Cotton
4. Mark Footitt


Worcestershire recorded their first victory of the competition on Monday as they defeated Leicestershire by eight-wickets, with debutant Alex Hepburn claiming 4-34.

Daryl Mitchell’s side had recorded five defeats from their opening six matches which meant that they stood no chance of qualifying for the knockout stages.

England’s Moeen Ali will be unavailable for today’s fixture as he prepares for his participation in the final Investec Ashes Test, but Pakistan spin bowler Saeed Ajmal and former Derbyshire all-rounder Ross Whiteley will be available to play.

Worcestershire will have one eye on preserving their LV= County Championship Division One status ahead of their final four matches, following their elimination from the NatWest T20 Blast against Hampshire last week and a Royal London One-Day Cup journey that will end todat.

WORCESTERSHIRE squad to play Derbyshire Falcons:

Oliver, Kohler-Cadmore, Fell, Clarke (wk), Gidman (capt), Whiteley,  D’Oliveira, Barnard, Russell, Ajmal, Morris, Hepburn

Derbyshire take on Worcestershire in their final game of this year’s Royal London One-Day Cup at The 3aaa County Ground today; 10.30am start. Tickets are available to purchase on the gate.


Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners