Godleman named Player of the Year at Gala Awards Evening

Saturday 26th September 2015
& News
Written by Danny Painter

Billy Godleman was the main winner at Saturday night’s Gala Dinner awards ceremony, claiming two awards including Derbyshire County Cricket Club’s Player of the Year prize.

The 26-year-old batsman claimed the prestigious award in recognition for an impressive 2015 season in which he passed 1,000 first-class runs in a campaign for the first time in his career. In total, he scored 1,412 runs across all formats and hit four centuries.

Godleman, who received his County Cap earlier this week, also picked up the Most Improved Player Award.

Wes Durston also picked up two awards, winning both limited overs Player of the Year awards after the all-rounder finished top of the scoring charts in both competitions.

Mark Footitt was the winner of the LV= County Championship Player of the Year Award in recognition of a standout red-ball season in which the left-arm paceman claimed 76 wickets, the joint most in Division Two.

Tony Palladino, meanwhile, was the recipient of the Spirit of Cricket Derbyshire Award – sponsored by Briggs of Burton – in recognition for his commitment to the game.

The list of winners in full is as follows: 

Cricket Derbyshire University of Derby Academy Player of the Year (In memory of Jack Swindell): Callum Parkinson

Chris Warne Shield for Academy Performance: Matt Critchley – 137 not out versus Northamptonshire in May

Second XI Player of the Year (Sponsored by DCCC Chairman Chris Grant): Tom Knight

Most Improved Player (Sponsored by Derby Telegraph): Billy Godleman

Cricket Derbyshire Foundation Community Award: Wayne Madsen

Eddie Barlow Inspirational Performance Award (Sponsored by David Griffin): Wayne White – 6-25 in the victory at Kent in June

Clubman of the Year (In memory of Trevor Bowring): David Griffin

NatWest T20 Blast Player of the Year (Sponsored by 3aaa): Wes Durston

Royal London One-Day Cup Player of the Year (Sponsored by Showcase Cinema de Lux): Wes Durston

LV= County Championship Player of the Year (Sponsored by the University of Derby): Mark Footitt

Spirit of Cricket Derbyshire Award (Sponsored by Briggs of Burton): Tony Palladino

Player of the Year (Sponsored by DCCC Chairman Chris Grant): Billy Godleman

Membership for 2016 is on sale NOW and is available for purchase online at, in person at The 3aaa County Ground or by calling 0871 350 1870.


Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners