Godrich commended for four-day pitches

Saturday 28th November 2015
& News
Written by Danny Painter

Derbyshire Head Groundsman, Neil Godrich, was commended in the category for four-day pitches at last night’s Groundsman of the Year Awards at The 3aaa County Ground.

Godrich and his team were praised for the quality of the pitches produced at Derby throughout the 2015 County Championship season.

Every pitch is rated at the end of the match by each of the umpires with these ratings used as the basis for the awards.

It’s the second successive year that the team at Derbyshire have been commended for their four-day pitches, while Godrich was also named one-day Groundsman of the Year in 2014.

Yorkshire’s Head Groundsman, Andy Fogarty, was named four-day Groundsman of the Year at the event in Derby, while he was also commended in the category for one-day pitches, which was won by Somerset’s Simon Lee – who was runner-up in the four-day category.

Hampshire’s Nigel Gray, the 2014 four-day winner, was runner-up to Lee for his one-day pitches, with Nottinghamshire’s Steve Birks and Andy Mackay of Sussex also commended.

Kent’s Simon Williamson, meanwhile, was commended in the four-day category. Paul Derrick of Durham MCCU won the MCC Universities award with Cambridge’s John Moden runner-up.

Before the awards dinner a minute’s silence was held in memory of Harry Brind and Peter Marron, former winners with Surrey and Lancashire respectively who passed away in 2015.

Roll of Honour

Four-day. Winner: Andy Fogarty (Headingley, Yorkshire). Runner-up: Simon Lee (Taunton, Somerset). Commended: Neil Godrich (The 3aaa County Ground, Derbyshire); Simon Williamson (The Spitfire Ground St Lawrence, Kent).

One-day. Winner: Simon Lee (Taunton, Somerset). Runner-up: Nigel Gray (Ageas Bowl, Hampshire). Commended: Steve Birks (Trent Bridge, Nottinghamshire), Andy Mackay (The County Ground, Sussex), Andy Fogarty (Headingley, Yorkshire).

Outgrounds. Winner: Bill Clutterbuck (Guildford, Surrey). Runner-up: John Dodds (Scarborough, Yorkshire). Commended: Stuart Kerrison (Colchester, Essex) and David Summersell (Uxbridge, Middlesex).

MCC Universities. Winner: Paul Derrick (Durham Racecourse, Durham MCCU). Runner-up: John Moden (Fenners, Cambridge MCCU).

Membership for 2016 is on sale NOW. Buy before February 1st Early Bird deadline and SAVE! Purchase online at, in person at The 3aaa County Ground or by calling 0871 350 1870.


Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners