Derbyshire unveil Wisden honours board

Thursday 4th February 2016
& News
Written by Danny Painter

Former Derbyshire and England fast bowler, Mike Hendrick, officially unveiled the Club’s first ever Wisden Cricketers of the Year honours board at The 3aaa County Ground.

Derbyshire are the eighth first-class county to unveil a Wisden Cricketers of the Year honours board, which will be located in the Club’s newly-refurbished heritage Boardroom.

Hendrick is one of 13 Derbyshire cricketers to have been named a Wisden Cricketer of the Year since its inception in 1889.

The former fast bowler, who was the 10th Derbyshire player to be bestowed the honour, claimed 497 first-class wickets for the county from 1969 to 1981.

He also represented England in 30 Test matches and 22 One Day Internationals, taking 122 wickets across the two formats.

The heritage Boardroom will be open on selected days during County Championship fixtures at The 3aaa County Ground in 2016 for Members and supporters to view.

Derbyshire County Cricket Club – Wisden Cricketers of the Year

1899 W Storer
1906 L.G Wright
1934 L.F Townsend
1936 D. Smith
1937 W.H Copson
1937 T.S Worthington
1959 H.L Jackson
1960 D.B Carr
1977 R.W Taylor
1978 M Hendrick
1989 K.J Barnett
1995 D.E Malcolm
1996 D.G Cork

Derbyshire CCC Membership for 2016 is on sale. Purchase online at, in person at The 3aaa County Ground or by calling 0871 350 1870.


Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners