Three changes for Essex trip

Friday 13th May 2016
Written by Danny Painter

Tom Taylor, Ben Cotton, Tom Milnes and Matt Critchley have all been named in Derbyshire’s 12-man squad to face Essex, starting on Sunday 15 May.

Taylor and Milnes feature in their first Specsavers County Championship squads of the season whilst Cotton and Critchley were both part of the squad to play Sussex but did not feature in the rain-affected draw.

Absentees from the previous squad include Luke Fletcher, who has been recalled from his loan by Nottinghamshire, as well as Andy Carter and Wes Durston.

The Derbyshire top five remains the same and Chesney Hughes will be looking to continue his impressive early season after hitting 466 runs in the opening four fixtures, at an average of 116.5 with a top score of 137*.

Shiv Thakor has also enjoyed an impressive start to the season. Last time out against Sussex, he was the pick of the bowlers with 3-59 after also finishing as top-scorer on 36 not out in the first innings.

Elite Performance Director, Graeme Welch said: “We’re now looking forward to going to Chelmsford and playing against Essex. We’ve made a few changes. With the NatWest T20 Blast coming up, we need to try and split the squads a little bit because of the schedule we have.

“I think they get the message quite clear as to what I am after now. It is a good set of lads and I think a first win will kick-start the season.”

Derbyshire squad to face Essex:

1. Billy Godleman (Captain)
22. Chesney Hughes
72. Hamish Rutherford
77. Wayne Madsen
4. Neil Broom
57. Shiv Thakor
20. Matthew Critchley
23. Tom Poynton
8. Tom Milnes
28. Tony Palladino
36. Ben Cotton
15. Tom Taylor


Essex have enjoyed a strong start to the 2016 campaign and currently sit top of Division Two after two wins and two draw from their four matches.

Batsman Tom Westley has had a standout start to the new first-class season, scoring 650 runs at an average of 81.25, having hit four centuries.

England Captain Alastair Cook has also been in the runs for Essex, scoring over 500 first-class runs so far, but they will be without him for the match versus Derbyshire due to his England commitments.

Graham Napier tops the wicket-taking charts with 29 first-class wicket from five fixtures, whilst Jamie Porter has been equally as impressive, taking 28 wickets at an average of a shade under 19.

Elsewhere, all-rounders Ravi Bopara and Ryan ten Doeschate are likely to offer options with both bat and ball.

Essex squad: Jaik Mickleburgh, Nick Browne, Tom Westley, Ravi Bopara, Dan Lawrence, Jesse Ryder, Ryan ten Doeschate, James Foster, Graham Napier, David Masters, Jamie Porter, Aaron Beard, Matt Dixon.

Matchday LIVE

Click HERE to keep up to date with the game via our new Matchday LIVE, sponsored by Showcase Cinemas de Lux.

You can also follow live updates on Twitter (@DerbyshireCCC) by using the #ESSvDER hashtag, plus regular updates will be available on Facebook throughout the match.

Supporters can also listen to live ball-by-ball commentary with BBC Radio Derby online HERE.

Derbyshire CCC Membership for 2016 is on sale. Purchase online at, in person at The 3aaa County Ground or by calling 0871 350 1870.


Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners