Derbyshire beaten by Kent

Wednesday 25th May 2016
Written by Danny Painter

An unbeaten 80 from Daniel Bell-Drummond, after James Tredwell and Calum Haggett picked up four wickets each, meant that Kent ran out winners over Derbyshire by seven wickets.

The visitors had been set 175 to win having taken seven wickets during the morning session to bowl their hosts out for 94, with Wayne Madsen top-scoring with 37.

Bell-Drummond defied the Derbyshire attack throughout the afternoon to take his side to victory inside 33 overs, as they finished on 176-3 with Sam Northeast hitting 30 and Adam Ball scoring 23.

The hosts’ not out overnight batsmen of Madsen and Neil Broom began the day in positive fashion, scoring freely during the first seven overs of the morning. Broom was out for 18 though when he was brilliantly caught one-handed by Adam Ball at slip off Tredwell for 18. Madsen was out soon after when he was lbw to Haggett on 37.

Having been passed fit to bat, Billy Godleman could only make three before he was lbw to Tredwell. In the following over, Tom Poynton was lbw to Haggett without scoring.

Shiv Thakor and Matt Critchley offered a degree of resistance but Thakor was bowled by a Tredwell beauty for 10 and Critchley was Haggett’s third lbw victim for 18.

The final wicket to fall was that of Ben Cotton who was also lbw to Haggett for a single as the hosts were bowled out for 94 to leave Kent requiring 175 for victory. Tredwell finished with 4-45, whilst Haggett claimed 4-15.

Tom Taylor (1-22), Tony Palladino (1-31) and Chesney Hughes (1-11) all picked up one wicket apiece but Kent made reasonably light work of the chase.

Bell-Drummond played positively to finish on 80 not out from 99 balls, having hit 10 fours and a six, as Kent won by seven wickets.

Click HERE to view scorecard.

Derbyshire Falcons host their opening home NatWest T20 Blast fixture vs Leicestershire Foxes on Friday 3 June. Buy your tickets in advance to secure your seat and save 20%.

Leicestershire Foxes – Friday 3 June – BUY NOW
Birmingham Bears – Friday 17 June – BUY NOW
Notts Outlaws – Friday 24 June – BUY NOW
Northants Steelbacks – Sunday 3 July – BUY NOW
Yorkshire Vikings – Sunday 10 July – BUY NOW
Lancashire Lightning – Wednesday 13 July – BUY NOW
Worcestershire Rapids – Friday 22 July – BUY NOW

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners