Falcons face Outlaws in local clash

Thursday 9th June 2016
Written by Danny Painter

Derbyshire Falcons return to NatWest T20 Blast action with a local clash against Notts Outlaws live on Sky Sports at Trent Bridge on Friday 10 June; 7.15pm start.

The Falcons have enjoyed an impressive start to the white-ball campaigns, securing victories in four of their five games across the NatWest T20 Blast and Royal London One-Day Cup so far.

Stand-in skipper Alex Hughes has led the side to a victory against Leicestershire Foxes in the shortest format of the game, before back-to-back 50-over wins versus Worcestershire Rapids and Durham in the past week. Hughes will once again captain the side on Friday night with Durston unavailable due to injury.

Notts, meanwhile, have had an indifferent start to their Twenty20 campaign, having lost two of their three matches thus far, but found form in their most recent match versus Lancashire Lightning to secure their first win of the campaign.

The Outlaws will also be buoyed by the arrival of superstar all-rounder Andre Russell, who is set to make his Notts bow in Friday night’s big fixture under the lights at Trent Bridge.

Derbyshire squad to face Notts

1. Billy Godleman
22. Chesney Hughes
26. Ben Slater
72. Hamish Rutherford
4. Neil Broom
77. Wayne Madsen
10. Scott Elstone
5. Jimmy Neesham
18. Alex Hughes
57. Shiv Thakor
20. Matt Critchley
23. Tom Poynton
36. Ben Cotton
7. Andy Carter


The introduction of West Indies star Andre Russell is sure to provide a boost to a Notts Outlaws side that tasted defeat in their opening two NatWest T20 Blast fixture of 2016.

Local bragging rights will once again be up for grabs, after both the Falcons and the Outlaws secured victories on their home turf in the two fixtures between the sides in 2015.

The Outlaws are likely to call upon Luke Fletcher for Friday’s fixture after the big seamer spent time on loan at Derbyshire in the early stages of the season, playing in four fixtures alongside former Outlaw Andy Carter, who is set to face his old side for the first time this week.

Opening pair Michael Lumb and Riki Wessels are likely to be in confident mood, after the pair made the highest ever List A partnership in England of 342 in the recent 50-over win over Northants Steelbacks, just days after the duo accumulated a century opening stand to help defeat Lancashire in the NatWest T20 Blast. Lumb and Wessels then secured a third successive hundred partnership in the fixture versus Warwickshire on Wednesday.

The overseas pair of Russell and Captain Daniel Christian are likely to offer a threat to the Falcons with both bat and ball, whilst former England men Samit Patel and Harry Gurney are also likely to don the Outlaws’ green on Friday night.

Notts Outlaws squad: Jake Ball, Dan Christian (c), Luke Fletcher, Harry Gurney, Brett Hutton, Michael Lumb, Steven Mullaney, Samit Patel, Andre Russell, Greg Smith, Brendan Taylor, Riki Wessels and Sam Wood.

Matchday LIVE

Click HERE to keep up-to-date with the game via our new Matchday LIVE page, sponsored by Showcase Cinemas de Lux.

You can also follow live updates on Twitter (@DerbyshireCCC) by using the #NOTvDER hashtag, plus updates will be available on Facebook throughout the match.

Supporters can also listen to live ball-by-ball commentary with BBC Radio Derby online HERE.

Ticket Information

Tickets will remain available online until gates open at 5.45pm on Friday with the option to collect at the ground or beat the queues by printing at home, with savings to be made by purchasing by midnight on Thursday.

Click HERE to buy tickets online.

Derbyshire are back in NatWest T20 Blast action at The 3aaa County Ground on Friday 17 July when they welcome Birmingham Bears. Supporters can save 20% by purchasing their tickets in advance.

Birmingham Bears – Friday 17 June – BUY NOW
Notts Outlaws – Friday 24 June – BUY NOW
Northants Steelbacks – Sunday 3 July – BUY NOW
Yorkshire Vikings – Sunday 10 July – BUY NOW
Lancashire Lightning – Wednesday 13 July – BUY NOW
Worcestershire Rapids – Friday 22 July – BUY NOW

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners