Squad unchanged for Headingley

Saturday 18th June 2016
Written by Danny Painter

Head Coach John Sadler has named an unchanged squad as his Derbyshire Falcons side travel to Headingley to face Yorkshire Vikings in the NatWest T20 Blast on Sunday 19 June; 2.30pm start.

The Falcons will be keen to bounce back after suffering a last-gasp defeat at the hands of Birmingham Bears on Friday 17 June at Derby, with the visitors securing victory off the final ball of a close-fought match.

Alex Hughes will continue as Captain in absence of Wes Durston, looking to back up his economical 1-21 in the Bears defeat, which helped to keep his side in the game right until the end.

Wayne Madsen and Hamish Rutherford hit 38 and 33 respectively on Friday night during a partnership which made sure the hosts would post a competitive total.

Reacting to his first match since being announced at Head Coach until the end of the season, Sadler said: “It’s disappointing but that’s T20 cricket and we did well to get back in the game.

“We were certainly behind the game after six overs but credit to our lads for fighting back and getting somewhere near.”

Derbyshire squad to face Yorkshire

1. Billy Godleman
22. Chesney Hughes
72. Hamish Rutherford
4. Neil Broom
77. Wayne Madsen
5. Jimmy Neesham
26. Ben Slater
18. Alex Hughes
57. Shiv Thakor
20. Matt Critchley
23. Tom Poynton
36. Ben Cotton
7. Andy Carter


A Yorkshire Vikings squad that has struggled in limited overs cricket so far will be buoyed by the news that their England contingent have been made available for the clash with the Falcons.

England stars Joe Root and Jonny Bairstaw will form part of the Vikings middle-order, whilst leg-spinner Adil Rashid and seamer Liam Plunkett have also been allowed to play before joining up with the England ODI squad.

Their squad has also been bolstered by the recent re-signing of spinner Azeem Rafiq, who had previously spent time playing Second XI cricket for both sides.

The Vikings have come out on top in seven of their last nine Twenty20 matches against the Falcons and will be hoping to continue that record and lift themselves off the bottom of the North Group standings.

Yorkshire squad: Bairstow, Ballance, Bresnan, Carver, Coad, Lees, Lyth, Patterson, Plunkett, Rafiq, Root, Willey, Williamson

Matchday LIVE

Click HERE to keep up-to-date with the game via our new Matchday LIVE page, sponsored by Showcase Cinemas de Lux.

You can also follow live updates on Twitter (@DerbyshireCCC) by using the #YORvDER hashtag, plus updates will be available on Facebook throughout the match.

Supporters can also listen to live ball-by-ball commentary with BBC Radio Derby online HERE.

Supporters can save 20% by purchasing their NatWest T20 Blast matchday tickets in advance of the day of the game. Buy online, over the phone by calling 01332 388 101 or in person at The 3aaa County Ground. 

Notts Outlaws – Fri 24 June – BUY
Northants Steelbacks – Sun 3 July – BUY
Yorkshire Vikings – Sun 10 July – BUY
Lancashire Lightning – Wed 13 July – BUY
Worcestershire Rapids – Fri 22 July – BUY

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners