Squad named for Edgbaston trip

Tuesday 14th June 2016
Written by Danny Painter

Derbyshire have named a 13-man squad as the Falcons continue their Royal London One-Day Cup campaign with a visit to Edgbaston to face Warwickshire on Wednesday 15 June; 2pm start.

After Sunday’s fixture versus Yorkshire Vikings was abandoned due to rain at Chesterfield, Derbyshire will be keen to get back into 50-over cricket having won their first two matches in convincing fashion.

Despite the disappointment due to the weather, Sadler and Andy Carter say that the side have continued to work hard and prepare for the upcoming fixtures in the best way possible, and are not fearing coming up against an experienced Bears outfit.

Sadler said: “We play against good sides whoever we play in this competition and format. We’ve played and beaten good sides, so we go to Edgbaston confident that we can get a good result.”

Carter added: “We’re not going to fear anybody. If we go to Warwickshire and force a win there we are in a really good place.”

The Falcons also face the Bears this Friday 17 June in a NatWest T20 Blast fixture at The 3aaa County Ground.

Derbyshire squad to face Warwickshire

1. Billy Godleman
22. Chesney Hughes
26. Ben Slater
72. Hamish Rutherford
4. Neil Broom
77. Wayne Madsen
18. Alex Hughes
57. Shiv Thakor
20. Matt Critchley
23. Tom Poynton
36. Ben Cotton
7. Andy Carter
44. Will Davis


Warwickshire boast an array of talent in their squad including the likes of Ian Bell, Jonathan Trott and in-form Sam Hain, but come into Wednesday’s match having won only one of their three 50-over games so far.

They recorded their first Royal London One-Day Cup victory in a nine-wicket win against Leicestershire Foxes earlier this month, in which Hain followed his impressive NatWest T20 Blast start with an unbeaten 105.

Despite sizeable contributions from Hain (69), Trott (100) and Bell (60) in their last Royal London One-Day Cup match against Nottinghamshire, the Bears lost the match by 36 runs in a high-scoring mach at Trent Bridge.

Warwickshire squad: Bell, Adair, Ambrose, Chopra, Clarke, Evans, Hain, Hannon-Dalby, Javid, Patel, Poysden, Trott

Matchday LIVE

Click HERE to keep up-to-date with the game via our new Matchday LIVE page, sponsored by Showcase Cinemas de Lux.

You can also follow live updates on Twitter (@DerbyshireCCC) by using the #WARvDER hashtag, plus updates will be available on Facebook throughout the match.

Supporters can also listen to live ball-by-ball commentary with BBC Radio Derby online HERE.

The Falcons face the Bears in the NatWest T20 Blast this Friday 17 June at The 3aaa County Ground and supporters can book their tickets in advance and save 20%.

Birmingham Bears – Fri 17 June – BUY
Notts Outlaws – Fri 24 June – BUY
Northants Steelbacks – Sun 3 July – BUY
Yorkshire Vikings – Sun 10 July – BUY
Lancashire Lightning – Wed 13 July – BUY
Worcestershire Rapids – Fri 22 July – BUY

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners