Derbyshire Women seal T20 promotion

Tuesday 26th July 2016
& News
Written by Lewis Angell

Derbyshire Women will be competing in the County Championship T20 Second Division in 2017 after sealing promotion following back-to-back wins at Denby Cricket Club on Sunday. 

Going into the final two fixtures, Derbyshire Women, sponsored by Briggs of Burton, needed victory in both games, against Devon and Oxfordshire.

In the first game against Devon, Captain Charlotte Horton won the toss and elected to bowl first, and Derbyshire, led by Amy Lacey’s figures of 3-7, dominated to dismiss the visitors for just 48. Emily Marriott claimed 2-7, while Emma Thatcher (1-6) and Alice Dyson (1-7) claimed one apiece.

Devon responded by claiming X early wickets, but Emily Marriott calmed any nerves hitting an unbeaten 23 as Derbyshire reached their victory target in the final over of a low scoring match.

In the day’s second game against Oxfordshire, Horton again won the toss and elected to field first. The visitors posted 120-5 off their 20 overs with Lauren Down (54) hitting a half-century before being dismissed by Lia Kellogg (2-32), who claimed two wickets.

In reply, an opening stand of 77 between Horton (47) and Rachel Hopkins (55 not out) propelled Derbyshire to victory with six wickets in hand and three balls remaining to spark celebrations and promotion for Derbyshire Women.

Supporters can save 20% by purchasing their Royal London One-Day Cup matchday tickets in advance of the day of the game. Buy online, over the phone by calling 01332 388 101 or in person at The 3aaa County Ground.

Lancashire Lightning – Wed 27 July – BUY
Leicestershire Foxes – Mon 1 Aug – BUY

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners