Falcons host Rapids in must-win clash

Thursday 21st July 2016
Written by Lewis Angell

A 15-man squad has been named as Derbyshire Falcons entertain Worcestershire Rapids in a must-win NatWest T20 Blast fixture at The 3aaa County Ground, on Friday 22 July; 7pm start. 

Tony Palladino takes his place in a NatWest T20 Blast squad for the first time this season, whilst four-day skipper Billy Godleman and Will Davis, who took a seven-wicket haul versus Glamorgan, are also in the squad to face the Rapids.

The Falcons secured an impressive victory in the reverse fixture versus Worcestershire at New Road, chasing down their second-highest ever total to win a game in the format.

They will be looking to repeat the feat on Friday night, whilst maintaining the momentum the side has picked up in the competition after an important win over Lancashire Lightning in front of the Sky Sports cameras last time out.

Wes Durston hit 51 from 34 balls, whilst Hamish Rutherford added 47 off 27 balls as the Falcons completed a six-wicket win. Jimmy Neesham, meanwhile, picked up the man of the match award for his 4-35 and 23 not out.

Both the Falcons and the Rapids enter Fridays big match still with hopes of claiming a quarter-final spot, but both need a win on Friday night to keep their hopes alive.

Derbyshire squad to face Worcestershire

3. Wes Durston
1. Billy Godleman
26. Ben Slater
22. Chesney Hughes
72. Hamish Rutherford
77. Wayne Madsen
4. Neil Broom
5. Jimmy Neesham
57. Shiv Thakor
18. Alex Hughes
16. Harvey Hosein
20. Matt Critchley
28. Tony Palladino
36. Ben Cotton
44. Will Davis

Ticket Information

Supporters can save 20% by purchasing their tickets before midnight on Thursday 21 July. Tickets can be purchased at the discounted price online HERE.

Tickets will also be available on the gate on Friday night, priced at £20 adults, £5 juniors and £5 students. Gates open at 5.30pm.

For more information about tickets for Friday’s fixture, please email [email protected] or call 01332 388 101.


Both sides enjoyed victory the last time they took to the field in the NatWest T20 Blast but in their last five games the Rapids have lost four, two away from home.

Amongst the four losses is the seven-wicket defeat to the Falcons back at the start of the month when Wayne Madsen hit 59 not out in a partnership of 97 with Chesney Hughes.

Tom Kohler-Cadmore is the Rapids’ most prolific batsman with 314 runs to his name in 2016 including a slog of 127 off 54 balls against the Durham Jets.

The Rapids’ One to Watch is Joe Leach, who is currently the lead wicket-taker in the entire competition. Click HERE to read more about him.

South Africa bowler Kyle Abbott is the Rapids’ overseas man for the competition, but has endured a disappointing start to his stint at New Road. Also potentially dangerous are all-rounder Brett D’Oliviera, Captain Daryl Mitchell and second overseas man Matt Henry.

Worcestershire squad to face Derbyshire: Joe Leach, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Joe Clarke, Brett D’Oliveira, Daryl Mitchel, Ross Whiteley, Ben Cox, George Rhodes, Ed Barnard, Jack Shantry, Charlie Morris, Alexei Kervezee, Chris Russell

Matchday LIVE

Click HERE to keep up-to-date with the game via our new Matchday LIVE page, sponsored by Showcase Cinemas de Lux.

You can also follow live updates on Twitter (@DerbyshireCCC) by using #DERvWOR, plus updates will be available on Facebook throughout the match.

Supporters can also listen to live ball-by-ball commentary with BBC Radio Derby online HERE.

Supporters can save 20% by purchasing their NatWest T20 Blast matchday tickets in advance of the day of the game. Buy online, over the phone by calling 01332 388 101 or in person at The 3aaa County Ground.

Worcestershire Rapids – Fri 22 July – BUY

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners