Madsen named Members' Player of the Year

Thursday 15th September 2016
& News
Written by Danny Painter

Wayne Madsen has been awarded the Member’s Player of the Year for 2016.

The Elizabeth Flintoff Memorial Trophy, voted for by Derbyshire Members, was presented to Madsen during the lunch interval on day three of the Specsavers County Championship match against Leicestershire.

Madsen is this season’s leading Championship run-scorer for Derbyshire, recording 1,187 runs, including five centuries at an average of 59.70.  Its the fourth successive year the 32-year-old has scored over 1,000 first-class runs. 

His highest feat of the season came against Kent in June, where he scored 163 as part of the Club’s highest score of the campaign of 574-9d. 

The in-form batsman scored 420 runs across the two white-ball competitions, including an unbeaten 69 in the Royal London One Day Cup victory against Worcestershire. 

The vote was the closest in 30 years, with Madsen edging Shiv Thakor and Ben Slater respectively.  

Club Physiotherapist and former wicketkeeper, James Pipe, presented Madsen with the trophy. Pipe will leave the Club at the end of the current season to take up a new role at Trent Bridge.

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners