BBC Radio Derby's Dave Fletcher awarded

Sunday 23rd October 2016
& News
Written by Danny Painter

Dave Fletcher from BBC Radio Derby, who commentates on every ball of Derbyshire’s season, has been named as the Christopher Martin-Jenkins County Broadcaster of the Year at the sixth annual County Cricket Journalism Awards.

One of five winners at the ECB’s annual event, Fletcher receives the award, in addition to a £5,000 prize provided by the Cricket Writers’ Club.

The other winners were:

  • Will Macpherson, a freelance journalist who has covered cricket for the Guardian and Cricinfo, was named the Christopher Martin-Jenkins Young County Journalist of the Year.
  • The Sunday Independent was named Regional Newspaper of the Year for its comprehensive coverage of First Class, Minor County and club cricket in the South West region.
  • The Cricket Paper was named County Cricket Newspaper of the Year for the second time in three years with last year’s winner, The Times, receiving a commendation.
  • ESPN Cricinfo was recognised as the outstanding Online Publication for the fourth consecutive year.

Mark Baldwin, chairman of the Cricket Writers’ Club, said: “The judging panel was impressed particularly by the strength in depth of the entries in the Young County Journalist of the Year category.

“The Cricket Writers’ Club’s continued support for ECB’s initiative in running these awards now includes offering prize monies in the Regional Newspaper of the Year category, precisely because the club wants to do what it can to support hard-pressed cricket writers in the regional press and also to underline its belief in the value to the game of coverage of county cricket in this area.

“It is in the interests of everyone who follows and cherishes county cricket that standards in media coverage across all platforms should be as high as possible, as a reflection of the strong and passionate following for our domestic game, and I would like to congratulate too the winners of the other three categories in this year’s awards.”

ECB Chief Executive Officer Tom Harrison said: “These awards recognise and reward the vital role cricket writers and broadcasters play in driving interest in all our domestic competitions.

“My congratulations to the winners and our sincere thanks to all the individuals and media organisations who provided such comprehensive and insightful coverage across a truly memorable county season.”

Join your county cricket club today. The Club has reduced its price and simplified its categories to offer one single Club Membership at only £139, if purchased before 1 February Early Bird deadline.

Buy Membership

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners