Southern Vipers
South East Stars

West Indies qualify for World Cup

Wednesday 23rd November 2016
& News
Written by Danny Painter

West Indies Women are the final team to automatically qualify for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017, starting on Monday 26 June.

The West Indies finished fourth in the ICC Women’s Championship behind New Zealand, England – who qualified following a recent 4-0 series whitewash against Sri Lanka – and overall winners Australia.

The remaining four teams in the eight team tournament – India, South Africa, Pakistan and Sri Lanka – will have the chance to qualify for the showpiece tournament through a 10-team Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2017, taking place in the Sri Lanka capital city of Colombo from 7-12 February. 

The other teams in the Colombo tournament will be regional qualifiers Bangladesh, Ireland, Papua New Guinea, Thailand, Scotland and Zimbabwe. Four teams will then advance to the global tournament.

West Indies Captain, Stephanie Taylor said: “We look forward to next year’s ICC Women’s World Cup with great enthusiasm. I’m sure all of us will be charged up to give our best and hope to be there in the final at Lord’s on July 23.

“Being the ICC World Twenty20 champions gives us a lot of confidence. We know of some of the expectations, but our team will be focused and ready to take on that challenge.”

Derby will host eight ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 fixtures next summer – and 2017 Members will be able to purchase tickets at a special discounted price.

Join your county cricket club today. The Club has reduced its price and simplified its categories to offer one single Club Membership at only £139 if purchased before 1 February Early Bird deadline.

Buy Membership

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners