India and South Africa book places at World Cup

Friday 17th February 2017
& News
Written by Danny Painter

India Women and South Africa Women progress from the Super Sixes stages to become the fifth and sixth teams to qualify for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017.

They join England, Australia, West Indies and New Zealand at this summer’s competition, with eight games taking place in Derby. The final two teams, between Sri Lanka, Pakistan and Bangladesh, will be confirmed on Sunday.

India beat Bangladesh by nine wickets to maintain an unbeaten record in the tournament whilst South Africa beat hosts Sri Lanka by the same margin. The results see India and South Africa top the Super Sixes table and guarantee their qualification, with one match spare.

Playing at the Nondescripts Cricket Club, India restricted Bangladesh to 155 for eight with pace bowler Mansi Joshi and leg-spinner Devika Vaidya claiming five wickets between them.

India reached 158 for one in 33.3 overs with opener Mona Meshram striking a career-best 78 not out with 12 fours, whilst captain Mithali Raj hit 73 not out which included ten fours.

In the other fixture, a strong South African bowling performance restricted Sri Lanka to 142 for 9, before the top order chased the target down with nine wickets and 83 balls to spare.

The ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 is to be held in England from 24 June to 23 July, with Derby hosting eight fixtures including the tournament opener and a semi-finals – both live on TV.

Derbyshire Members for 2017 will receive a special discounted rate on ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 tickets for matches at Derby. Email [email protected] for more information.

Join your county cricket club. The Club has reduced its price and simplified its categories to offer one single Club Membership at only £159. Buy online today.

Buy Membership

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners