Pre-Match Pack: Hampshire

Monday 21st August 2017
Written by Danny Painter

Gary Wilson returns to lead a 15-man Derbyshire Falcons squad for the NatWest T20 Blast quarter-final against Hampshire at The 3aaa County Ground on Tuesday 22 August; 6.30pm start.

Falcons Captain Wilson returns after international duty with Ireland to lead the Falcons in the first Twenty20 quarter-final fixture for Derbyshire since 2005.

The Falcons qualified for the knockout stages after a 48-run win over the Rapids cemented a second-place finish and a home quarter-final against the South Group’s third-placed team, Hampshire.

Wayne Madsen is the Club’s leading run-scorer in the competition with 522 from 13 matches. He will be aiming to add to that tally alongside fellow middle-order batsman, Luis Reece, who has scored 417 runs including a career-best 97 not out.

Imran Tahir leads the way with the ball having claimed 17 wickets in the group stages, most notably a return of 4-17 in the crucial victory over Worcestershire Rapids which booked a quarter-final spot. He will be joined in the spin department by all-rounder Matt Critchley, who has taken four wickets and hit 244 runs so far.

Hardus Viljoen and Matt Henry have both taken 14 wickets and are likely to lead the pace attack, with Ben Cotton and Alex Hughes providing further seam options.

Derbyshire Squad

1. Billy Godleman
10. Luis Reece
23. Tom Wood
77. Wayne Madsen
18. Alex Hughes
9. Gary Wilson
20. Matt Critchley
2. Callum Brodrick
11. Daryn Smit
21. Matt Henry
7. Hardus Viljoen
8. Tom Milnes
14. Greg Cork
36. Ben Cotton
99. Imran Tahir


Two-time domestic Twenty20 winners, Hampshire travel to The 3aaa County Ground after finishing third in the South Group, with seven wins, six defeats and one no result from their 14 matches.

Most recently they lost by 98 runs to Somerset, confirming a third-placed finish in the group.

Captain and Hampshire leading run-scorer James Vince and wicketkeeper-batsman Calvin Dickinson are likely to open, with Tom Alsop and overseas signing and Australian international George Bailey likely to make up the top four.

Chris Wood and former South Africa international Kyle Abbott lead a strong seam attack whilst Liam Dawson and Shahid Afridi offer spin options alongside England international and leading wicket-taker Mason Crane who returns from international duties.

Hampshire Squad: James Vince, Calvin Dickinson, Chris Wood, Shahid Afridi, Mason Crane, Tom Alsop, George Bailey, Brad Wheal, Gareth Berg, Michael Carberry, Jimmy Adams, Kyle Abbott, Liam Dawson, Sean Ervine.

Pre-Match Talk

The competition’s third highest run-scorer, Wayne Madsen praised the Falcons’ achievement in reaching the quarter-final and wants to see another good crowd in Derby for the big fixture.

He said: “I’m very excited, these are the sorts of games that you want to be playing. I’ve been waiting nine years for this. It means the world and hopefully it’s just the start and we’ve got a few more big games to come.

“To pick up eight wins out of 14 has been an outstanding achievement and hopefully we can continue that in the quarter-final. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed being able to contribute towards the team success and hoping that can continue. But all that matters to me is making sure that we win on Tuesday night.”

He added: “One thing that has stood out for us this season has been the support, starting witht he Chesterfield game and then each NatWest T20 Blast game at home. The crowd have been amazing and they give the players that extra lift and that is vital. Hopefully we get a big crowd on Tuesday night.”

Derbyshire Falcons face Hampshire in NatWest T20 Blast quarter-finals on Tuesday 22 August (6.30pm) at The 3aaa County Ground. Buy your tickets in advance & save – but be quick, tickets are going fast.

Buy Tickets

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners