Pre-Match Pack: Leicestershire

Monday 25th June 2018
& News
Written by Danny Painter

Derbyshire have named a 13-man squad for the day/night Specsavers County Championship match against Leicestershire at The 3aaa County Ground starting on 25 June; 1.30pm start.

Leicestershire will arrive to face Derbyshire in a historic first day-night Specsavers County Championship match in Derby.

Ben Slater maintained his fine form against Glamorgan with his fifth half-century of the campaign. The opener is also Derbyshire’s top scorer in the campaign with 506 runs at an average of 46.

Alex Hughes will bolster the middle order after he hit his first century of the season with a well-made 103 at Swansea. In his first spell of the competition, the all-rounder also claimed two wickets in the same match.

Daryn Smit will return to the line-up with Gary Wilson away on international duty with Ireland. He comes into the fixture following a strong performance for Derbyshire’s Second XI where he hit 104 to help the home side to victory.

Second XI Captain James Kettleborough, meanwhile, has been named in his first County Championship squad of the season.

Fast bowler Duanne Olivier is expected to spearhead the county’s bowling attack in his final game for the county. Olivier has been the standout performer with the ball in red-ball cricket this summer taking 27 wickets at an average of 27.03.

Derbyshire Squad

1. Billy Godleman
26. Ben Slater
77. Wayne Madsen
18. Alex Hughes
23. James Kettleborough
20. Matt Critchley
16. Harvey Hosein
11. Daryn Smit
7. Hardus Viljoen
28. Tony Palladino
41. Ravi Rampaul
74. Duanne Olivier
75. Hamidullah Qadri


Leicestershire arrive at The 3aaa County Ground looking to bounce back from their dramatic loss at home to Middlesex in the Specsavers County Championship.

Paul Horton will captain a strong Leicestershire side that had won the two previous matches before their loss to Middlesex.

Colin Ackermann is set to continue at the top of the order following his career-best first-class score against Middlesex when he hit an unbeaten 196. Ackermann is also the visitors top run scorer in the competition with 599 at an average of 74.87.

Neil Dexter will remain in the middle order as the experienced all-rounder provides a reliable option with bat and ball. Dexter averages over 50 in this campaign while he has claimed over 150 wickets in red-ball cricket throughout his career.

The visitors are strengthened by the return of Mohammed Abbas to the bowling attack. Abbas returns following his impressive spell with the Pakistan Test team where he took eight wickets against England to pick up a man-of-the-match award.

Ben Raine has also impressed with the ball this summer as he leads Leicestershire for wickets in the County Championship with 29 at an average of 21.86. Raine can also provide valuable runs in the lower order for the visitors; he has scored more than 260 runs in red-ball cricket this season.

Opposition Squad: Horton (capt), Abbas, Ackermann, Cosgrove, Dearden, Dexter, Griffiths, Hill, Javid, Jones, Parkinson, Raine, Swindells.

Vitality Blast is back! Derbyshire Falcons host seven Twenty20 games this July and August. Purchase your tickets in advance and save from £4. Buy online or call 01332 388 101.


Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners