Madsen named Player of the Year

Saturday 29th September 2018
& News
Written by Danny Painter

Wayne Madsen was the big winner at the 2018 end of season Gala Dinner awards ceremony, scooping the Player of the Year award for a record fourth time.

The 34-year-old, who signed a three-year contract extension to commit him to the Club until the end of the 2022 season earlier this week, enjoyed another standout season in a Derbyshire shirt.

He was the Club’s leading run-scorer in first-class cricket with 1,016 runs, the fifth time he has gone past 1,000 red ball runs in a season for Derbyshire. In total, he hit over 1,500 runs across all forms.

Alex Hughes picked up the Vitality Blast Player of the Year Award following his record-breaking campaign with the ball, during which he picked up 17 wickets – the joint most by a Derbyshire player in a single campaign.

Captain Billy Godleman’s prolific List A campaign, during which he scored 509 runs at an average of 72.71 and with a top-score of 137, saw him pick up the Royal London One-Day Cup Player of the Year award.

While Tony Palladino’s 51 red ball wickets at an average of 19.72, including a maiden ten-wicket match haul, earned him the Specsavers County Championship Player of the Year Award.

The list of winners in full is as follows:

Cricket Derbyshire University of Derby Academy Player of the Year: Jack Redman

Chris Warne Shield for Academy Performance: Sam Conners (2-20 for England U19 vs South Africa A)

Second XI Player of the Year: Anuj Dal

Most Improved Player (Sponsored by Derby Telegraph): Matt Critchley

Eddie Barlow Inspirational Performance Award (Sponsored by David Griffin): Matt Critchley (38 off 17 balls vs Yorkshire Vikings)

Vitality Blast Player of the Year (Sponsored by 3aaa): Alex Hughes

Royal London One-Day Cup Player of the Year (Sponsored by Showcase Cinema de Lux): Billy Godleman

Specsavers County Championship Player of the Year (Sponsored by the University of Derby): Tony Palladino

Spirit of Cricket Derbyshire Award (Sponsored by Briggs of Burton): Luis Reece

Player of the Year: Wayne Madsen

Thank you for your support this season. Club Membership for 2019 will go on sale in October. We hope to see you at The 3aaa County Ground next summer.
Derby’s biggest and best fireworks display, hosted by Capital Breakfast’s Dino, Pete and Tyles, returns to The 3aaa County Ground on Saturday 3 November. Buy your tickets in advance and save.

Buy Tickets

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners