Statistical Preview: Warwickshire

Monday 29th April 2019
& News
Written by Danny Painter

After three consecutive away games, Derbyshire return to The Pattonair County Ground, Derby for their next Royal London One-Day Cup match, against Warwickshire.

Heritage Officer and Statistician, David Griffin, looks at the statistical background to the game.

These two counties have met on 56 occasions in List A cricket with Derbyshire winning 20 matches, Warwickshire 27, with four No Results and five abandonments.

Derbyshire have enjoyed recent consecutive wins against Warwickshire in this competition, winning at Derby in 2017, when Jeevan Mendis scored a quickfire 44 runs from just 23 balls to see the home side to victory, and in 2018 when Billy Godleman’s 137 off 116 balls at Edgbaston ensured a 57-run victory in a high-scoring contest.

That win at Edgbaston was based on Derbyshire’s 357-8 – their highest innings total against Warwickshire, and their highest total against another county side. Derbyshire have made higher totals against Combined Universities (366-4) and Cornwall (365-3).

Warwickshire’s highest innings total is the 300 all out in reply in the same game.

Derbyshire’s lowest all-out total is 93 at Birmingham in 1997 (in just 21 overs) while Warwickshire’s lowest total is 156 at Ilkeston in 1978.

Derbyshire’s heaviest victories were by 66 runs at Ilkeston in 1978 and by 8 wickets twice, at Leek in 1992 and at Derby in 1996.

Derbyshire’s narrowest wins were by one run at Derby in 1990 – a crucial victory in the year Derbyshire won the AXA Refuge Assurance Sunday League – and by two wickets at Edgbaston in 1987.

Warwickshire’s heaviest victories were by 116 runs in the NatWest Trophy quarter final at Derby in 1995, and by 9 wickets at Edgbaston in 2012.

Warwickshire’s narrowest wins were by 1 run at Derby in 1977 and by one wicket at Derby in 1997.

The 1 run win by Warwickshire in 1977 was unusual in that the early-season Benson and Hedges Cup group game was scheduled to be played at Ilkeston but was transferred to Derby after the first day was washed-out. In those days, three days were set aside for 55 and 60-over cricket and when the teams moved to Derby for the 2nd day, play was suspended because of the dazzle of the sun off Aiton’s roof with Derbyshire still needing 32 runs to win. Both sides returned on the third day to complete an unusual and closely-fought match.

One of the greatest Derbyshire v Warwickshire clashes occurred in 1978 when the sides played at Derby in the semi-final of the Benson and Hedges Cup.

The teams had already met at Ilkeston in the group stages, with Derbyshire winning by 66 runs, and when they were drawn together in the semi-finals a large crowd attended what became a two-day rain-affected game.

Derbyshire batted first – captain, Eddie Barlow preferred defending totals in one day cricket, they batted first 19 times in 23 List A games that summer – and made 203-9 off 55 overs with Tony Borrington top-scoring with 77. Bob Willis took 3-30 and David Brown 3-32 on a slow, seaming pitch.

Warwickshire’s response was slow, largely as a result of Mike Hendrick whose opening spell was 8-6-2-2, removing Amiss and Abberley for a single each.

Hendrick and Geoff Miller bowled immaculate 11-over spells, Hendrick finishing with 2-14 and Miller 1-18. Barlow took 3-26 and with several great catches held, Derbyshire prevailed and moved into their second Lord’s final.

Four Derbyshire players have scored hundreds in List A matches against Warwickshire with Godleman’s 137 in 2018 being the highest; John Morris made 112 not out at Edgbaston in 1989, John Wright scored 108 at Coventry in 1983, and Alan Hill an unbeaten 102 at Ilkeston in 1978.

Chris Wilkins scored 94 at Chesterfield in 1972.

One Derbyshire bowler has taken five wickets in an innings – Steffan Jones, who took 5-49 in the win at Edgbaston in 2006

Club Membership! Never miss a moment this summer with Club Membership. That’s all regular season home cricket for just £179. Buy online or call 01332 388 101.

Buy Membership

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners