Derbyshire County Cricket Club – Quarter-Final History

Thursday 5th September 2019
& News
Written by Stephen Martin

Derbyshire’s qualification for the quarter finals of the T20 Vitality Blast competition means that the club has reached this stage of a tournament for the second time in three years. Heritage Officer, David Griffin, looks back at Derbyshire’s quarter final history.

The highly anticipated match against Gloucestershire at Bristol on Saturday 7 September will be Derbyshire’s 27th quarter final since limited overs matches were formally introduced in England and Wales in 1963, and their third in Twenty20 cricket since the format began in 2003. It will also be Derbyshire’s first away knockout game since the Royal London Cup quarter final against Nottinghamshire at Trent Bridge in 2014.

14 of the 26 previous quarter finals were played at home, with Ilkeston hosting the game against Somerset in the Gillette Cup in 1977, and Derby staging the remaining fixtures. Chesterfield has never hosted a quarter final, despite staging semi finals in 1969 and 1975.

Derbyshire won nine of the 26 games – those nine wins coming at Derby (four), Cardiff (two), Taunton, Trent Bridge and The Oval – and on six occasions Derbyshire progressed to the final of the competition, winning twice, in 1981 and 1993.

Derbyshire’s most recent semi-final – in 2003 – was against Gloucestershire at Bristol when the home side won a keenly-contested Cheltenham and Gloucestershire fixture by just one wicket.

Kim Barnett, remarkably, played in 16 of the 25 quarter finals, while Dominic Cork played in nine, and has been involved in a coaching capacity in the most recent two.

One of the more thrilling quarter finals was against Nottinghamshire at Derby in 1981, the year Derbyshire won the Nat West Trophy. Nottinghamshire, with Rice, Hadlee and Randall, were expected to outgun a Derbyshire side missing two key players; opening bowler, Mike Hendrick, and fellow England Test Match all-rounder, Geoff Miller. However, Steve Oldham – replacing the injured Hendrick, and the 22-year-old Paul Newman, took six wickets between them, out-bowling their more celebrated Nottinghamshire counterparts, as Derbyshire recorded a remarkable 23-run win, having only totalled 164 all out in 59 overs.

In 1993, Derbyshire’s quarter final win over Somerset in the Benson and Hedges Cup was something of a collector’s item. Derbyshire and Somerset tried to get a match underway at a sodden Taunton for several days, before the tie was finally resolved in a bowl-out with Derbyshire progressing to the semi-finals and a subsequent final win on that never-to-be-forgotten July evening at Lord’s.

Derbyshire’s two previous quarter finals in t20 cricket both ended in defeat, to Lancashire at Old Trafford in 2005, and to Hampshire at Derby in 2017 when Shahid Afridi-inspired the visitors to a 101-run victory. Derbyshire will naturally be hoping it’s third quarter-final lucky at Bristol.

Derbyshire reached eight consecutive quarter finals between 1992 and 1998, winning two, while their best consecutive winning run was three between 1978 and 1981.

Season Competition Opponent Venue Outcome Further Games
1 1963 Gillette Cup Lancashire Old Trafford Lost  
2 1969 Gillette Cup Glamorgan Cardiff Won Losing Finalists
3 1975 Gillette Cup Nottinghamshire Trent Bridge Won Losing Semi-Finalists
4 1976 Gillette Cup Hampshire Southampton Lost  
5 1977 Gillette Cup Somerset Ilkeston Lost  
6 1978 Benson and Hedges Cup Middlesex Derby Won Losing Finalists
7 1979 Benson and Hedges Cup Glamorgan Cardiff Won Losing Semi-Finalists
8 1981 Nat West Trophy Nottinghamshire Derby Won Winners
9 1982 Benson and Hedges Cup Sussex Derby Lost  
10 1985 Benson and Hedges Cup Essex Chelmsford Lost  
11 1986 Benson and Hedges Cup Kent Derby Lost  
12 1987 Nat West Trophy Nottinghamshire Derby Lost  
13 1988 Benson and Hedges Cup Middlesex Derby Won Losing Finalists
14 1988 Nat West Trophy Hampshire Derby Lost  
15 1992 Benson and Hedges Cup Kent Canterbury Lost  
16 1993 Benson and Hedges Cup Somerset Taunton Won Winners
17 1994 Benson and Hedges Cup Worcestershire Derby Lost  
18 1994 Nat West Trophy Kent Derby Lost  
19 1995 Nat West Trophy Warwickshire Derby Lost  
20 1996 Nat West Trophy Lancashire Old Trafford Lost  
21 1997 Nat West Trophy Sussex Derby Lost  
22 1998 Nat West Trophy Surrey The Oval Won Losing Finalists
23 2003 Cheltenham & Gloucester Trophy Surrey Derby Won Losing Semi-Finalists
24 2005 Twenty20 Cup Lancashire Old Trafford Lost  
25 2014 Royal London One Day Cup Nottinghamshire Trent Bridge Lost  
26 2017 Nat West T20 Blast Hampshire Derby Lost  
27 2019 T20 Vitality Blast Gloucestershire Bristol    

150th Anniversary Membership! Join Derbyshire County Cricket Club for just £150 in 2020 as the club celebrates it’s 150th Anniversary. But be quick, the exclusive price is only available until 30 September.

Buy Membership

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners