Pre-Match Pack: Warwickshire

Wednesday 7th April 2021
Written by Stephen Martin
Photography by: David Griffin

Derbyshire have named a 13-man squad for their LV= County Championship season-opener against Warwickshire at Edgbaston, starting on Thursday 8 April (11am). 

Billy Godleman will lead a team boosted by the performances in last season’s Bob Willis Trophy, which saw Derbyshire finish second in the North Group, and looking to replicate that success, Derbyshire will look towards the experience of the captain, Luis Reece and Wayne Madsen, as well as last season’s leading run-scorer, Leus du Plooy.

Reece could take the new ball in an exciting bowling attack, with the likes of Sam Conners, Michael Cohen and Ben Aitchison aiming to build on last season’s progress.

George Scrimshaw is named in the squad after he claimed three wickets against Lancashire in pre-season, while Harvey Hosein’s runs against Cardiff UCCE give him momentum ahead of the game.

Brooke Guest, Anuj Dal and Fynn Hudson-Prentice are all also named in the squad, as is 2020 Player of the Year, Matt Critchley, who was Derbyshire’s leading Bob Willis Trophy wicket-taker last season, claiming 17 dismissals.

Overseas signing Billy Stanlake has not yet joined up with the squad, due to Queensland still competing in the Marsh Cup in Australia.

Derbyshire Squad: 

1. Billy Godleman (C)
10. Luis Reece
65. Anuj Dal
76. Leus du Plooy
77. Wayne Madsen
20. Matt Critchley
16. Harvey Hosein
29. Brooke Guest
33. Fynn Hudson-Prentice
8. Michael Cohen
11. Ben Aitchison
59. Sam Conners
9. George Scrimshaw

Bite-sized Stats

Derbyshire have won 42 of their previous 172 first-class meetings with Warwickshire, with 81 encounters drawn over the years. The hosts for this season’s opening fixture have won 49 of those clashes, while one was abandoned without a ball being bowled.

Wayne Madsen scored a brilliant 144 the last time that Derbyshire visited Edgbaston in red ball cricket (2018), and the batsman will be hoping to replicate that form this week.

One of Derbyshire’s many legendary fast bowlers, Bill Copson, had a record-breaking match against Warwickshire at Derby in 1937. The home side won by five wickets having bowled Warwickshire out for 28 on the first morning as Copson took 8-11 in 8.2 overs. Ten of the Warwickshire wickets were clean bowled – 6 of them by Copson who took four wickets in four balls, five wickets in six balls, seven wickets in 13 balls (all bowled) and seven wickets in 18 balls.

How to follow

Derbyshire’s LV= County Championship fixture against Warwickshire will be Live Streamed on the club website through our improved Match Centre.

With Live Streaming, in-play scorecards, ball by ball commentary, clips, statistics and so much more, you can put yourself at the heart of the action, even from the comfort of your own home!

Clips and updates will also be provides via our social media channels, so make sure you’re following us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram, so you never miss a moment of the action.

Together, We Are All Derbyshire. Club Membership for the 2021 season is on sale now, priced at just £199. Members to have priority entry and all Memberships backed by our new guarantees.

Buy Membership

Safety Regulations

Due to current safety and capacity regulations, Derbyshire’s away fixture with Warwickshire will be held behind closed doors. We urge supporters not to travel to Edgbaston.

Coverage of the fixture will be provided via the club website in our Match Centre, as well as our official social media channels: Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Secure priority entry with 2021 Membership.

Be the first to see Derbyshire in action, with exclusive Members’ access to the LV= County Championship fixture against Durham, as well as priority entry to all other home fixtures.

Membership is the best value way to follow Derbyshire as we celebrate the historic 150th anniversary of our first match, with a host of other Member Exclusives included too.

Club Membership for the 2021 season is on sale now, priced at just £199. Members to have priority entry and all Memberships backed by our new guarantees.

Buy Membership
Match Result:
Thu 08 Apr 2021 - Sun 11 Apr 2021
Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners