Sandiacre Town CC to compete in National Cup final this Sunday

Saturday 11th September 2021
& News

Derbyshire club, Sandiacre Town Cricket Club, will face Bath Cricket Club in the ECB National Club Championship final this Sunday at Wormsley Cricket Ground (11am start). 

Sandicare, who compete in the Derbyshire Premier League and are mounting a strong title challenge, will have the chance to win the National Cup for the third time, having lifted the trophy in 2003, when they also faced Bath, and 2014.

With a bowling attack led by Dan Wheeldon, who has claimed ten wickets at an average of 11.90 in the National Club Championship, Sandiacre overcame Ockbrook & Borrowash, Chesterfield and Cuckney in the early rounds, before beating Cavaliers and Carrington CC (15 runs), Leamington CC (56 runs) and South Northumberland CC (six wickets) to reach the final.

Bath themselves reached the final with a comprehensive 197-run win over Brentwood CC, but Sandiacre will be hoping the likes of Scott McNeil and Luke Thomas, who have scored more than 1,800 runs combined this year, can be the difference at the top of the order,  while Connor Marshall, who played for Derbyshire in the Royal London Cup, has the ability to contribute with bat and ball.

At the heart of the action is likely to be the experienced John Jordison, who has represented Sandiacre for more than two decades and has been at the centre of National Cup triumphs in 2003 and 2014, with the hope of making it a hat-trick of wins this weekend.

All at Derbyshire County Cricket Club would like to wish Sandiacre Town CC luck as they represent the county in the ECB National Club Championship final.

Ahead of the game, Wheeldon said: “This tournament is the pinnacle of amateur cricket in England for us to have to the opportunity to become only the fourth club in history to win it three times is something we are very excited about. People from all over the Derbyshire cricket network have been sending messages of good luck and we hope to make the county proud.”

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners