Worcestershire Rapids
Derbyshire Falcons

Groundstaff runners-up in ECB Awards

Wednesday 1st December 2021
& News
Photography by: Getty Images

Derbyshire’s Groundstaff, headed by Neil Godrich, have been recognised for their pitch-preparation in 2021 at the annual England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB) Grounds Manager of the Year Awards.

The Groundscare Team, who have more than 40 years’ experience between them, finished as runners-up in the three/four-day pitch category, behind Emirates Old Trafford’s Matt Merchant.

In finishing runners-up, Godrich and his team were regularly awarded excellent pitch scores by Match Officials throughout the season.

Last week, Derbyshire’s Head Groundsperson sat down with Heritage Officer, David Griffin, to discuss his 20 plus years with the Club. Click HERE to read the full interview.

Award Winners:

Headquarters Grounds, 3&4-Day: Matt Merchant (Emirates Old Trafford).
Joint Runners-up: Scott Hawkins (Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton), Neil Godrich (The Incora County Ground, Derby). Commendations: Gary Barwell (Edgbaston), Ben Gibson (The 1st Central County Ground, Hove), Lee Fortis (Kia Oval).

Headquarters Grounds, One-Day: Adrian Llong (The Spitfire Ground, St Lawrence).
Runner-up: Scott Hawkins (Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton). Commendations: Gary Barwell (Edgbaston), Vic Demain (Emirates Riverside), Andy Ward (Uptonsteel County Ground, Grace Road), Karl McDermott (Lord’s).

Test Match Recognition Award: Simon Lee, The Ageas Bowl, England Men v West Indies, 2020.

Outgrounds: Christian Brain (Cheltenham College)
Commendation: Alex Kegg (Chester Boughton), Ben Harris (York).

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners