menu
close

Interview: Arthur assesses opening day

Thursday 7th April 2022

Head of Cricket, Mickey Arthur, gave his assessment after Derbyshire fought back well on a challenging opening day at Lord’s.

Former Sri Lanka fast bowler, Suranga Lakmal, picked up an early wicket on debut, but Stephen Eskinazi (118) batted fluently for Middlesex, as the hosts closed on 307-4.

“I think the wicket played really well today, you had to be spot on the money which we weren’t in that first hour today,” said Arthur.

“We pulled it back well, but I’d have liked us to add a couple more wickets. I can’t fault the endeavour, discipline or attitude.

“Suranga [Lakmal] has got a big motor and he’s going to be a handful in the County Championship. He brought all of the attributes today which made me want to sign him for Derbyshire.”

Commenting on Ryan Sidebottom’s injury, Arthur said: “It was really disappointing, but I thought Alex Thomson and Anuj Dal picked up that slack really well. He won’t take further part in the game, but it’s not that severe.”

Click the video above to watch the full interview. 


2022 Membership – One Club, Our County

2022 Membership is on sale now, with supporters able to attend a full season of Derbyshire home cricket for the first time since 2019, along with a host of other great benefits for!

Buy Membership
Match Result:
A
D
Thu 07 Apr 2022 - Sun 10 Apr 2022
Lord's
Middlesex
Middlesex
401
258-5d
Derbyshire
Derbyshire
304
255-5

Last result

No results to display

Next fixture

H
Sat 01 Apr 2023 - Mon 03 Apr 2023
The Incora County Ground
Durham UCCE
Durham UCCE
See all fixtures

Upcoming fixtures

H
Thu 06 Apr 2023 - Sun 09 Apr 2023
The Incora County Ground
Worcestershire
Worcestershire
A
Mon 10 Apr 2023 - Thu 13 Apr 2023
Venue TBC
Middlesex
Middlesex
A
Thu 13 Apr 2023 - Sun 16 Apr 2023
The Uptonsteel County Ground
Leicestershire
Leicestershire
A
Mon 17 Apr 2023 - Thu 20 Apr 2023
Lady Bay
Nottinghamshire
Nottinghamshire
A
Thu 27 Apr 2023 - Sun 30 Apr 2023
Seat Unique Riverside
Durham Cricket
Durham Cricket
Sponsors
Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners