Heritage Insight: Derbyshire's quarter-final history

Friday 8th July 2022
Photography by: David Griffin

Derbyshire’s qualification for the quarter finals of the T20 Vitality Blast competition means that the club has reached this stage of a tournament for the third time in six years. Heritage Officer David Griffin looks back at Derbyshire’s quarter-final history.

The highly anticipated match against Somerset at Taunton on Saturday 9 July will be Derbyshire’s 28th quarter-final since limited overs matches were formally introduced in England and Wales in 1963, and their fourth in Twenty20 cricket since the format began in 2003. It will also be Derbyshire’s first away knockout game since the T20 semi final against Essex at Edgbaston in 2019.

14 of the 27 previous quarter-finals were played at home, with Ilkeston hosting the game against Somerset in the Gillette Cup in 1977, and Derby staging the remaining fixtures. Chesterfield has never hosted a quarter final, despite staging semi finals in 1969 and 1975.

Derbyshire won 10 of the 27 games – those nine wins coming at Derby (4), Cardiff (2), Bristol, Taunton, Trent Bridge and The Oval – and on six occasions Derbyshire progressed to the final of the competition, winning twice, in 1981 and 1993.

Kim Barnett, remarkably, played in 16 quarter finals, while Dominic Cork played in nine, and was engaged in a coaching capacity in two.

One of the more thrilling quarter finals was against Nottinghamshire at Derby in 1981, the year Derbyshire won the Nat West Trophy. Nottinghamshire, with Rice, Hadlee and Randall, were expected to outgun a Derbyshire side missing two key players: opening bowler, Mike Hendrick, and fellow England Test Match all-rounder, Geoff Miller. However, Steve Oldham – replacing the injured Hendrick, and the 22-year-old Paul Newman, took six wickets between them, out-bowling their more celebrated Nottinghamshire counterparts, as Derbyshire recorded a remarkable 23-run win, having only totalled 164 all out in 59 overs.

In 1993, Derbyshire’s quarter final win over Somerset in the Benson and Hedges Cup was something of a collector’s item. Derbyshire and Somerset tried to get a match underway at a sodden Taunton for several days before the tie was finally resolved in a bowl-out with Derbyshire progressing to the semi-finals and a subsequent final win on that never-to-be-forgotten July evening at Lord’s.

Derbyshire’s three previous quarter-finals in t20 cricket ended in two defeats, to Lancashire at Old Trafford in 2005, and to Hampshire at Derby in 2017 when Shahid Afridi-inspired the visitors to a 101-run victory, and one memorable victory, against Gloucestershire at Bristol in 2019.

Derbyshire reached quarter finals in eight consecutive seasons between 1992 and 1998, winning two, while their best consecutive winning run was three between 1978 and 1981.


Season Competition Opponent Venue Outcome Further Games
1 1963 Gillette Cup Lancashire Old Trafford Lost  
2 1969 Gillette Cup Glamorgan Cardiff Won Losing Finalists
3 1975 Gillette Cup Nottinghamshire Trent Bridge Won Losing Semi-Finalists
4 1976 Gillette Cup Hampshire Southampton Lost  
5 1977 Gillette Cup Somerset Ilkeston Lost  
6 1978 Benson and Hedges Cup Middlesex Derby Won Losing Finalists
7 1979 Benson and Hedges Cup Glamorgan Cardiff Won Losing Semi-Finalists
8 1981 Nat West Trophy Nottinghamshire Derby Won Winners
9 1982 Benson and Hedges Cup Sussex Derby Lost  
10 1985 Benson and Hedges Cup Essex Chelmsford Lost  
11 1986 Benson and Hedges Cup Kent Derby Lost  
12 1987 Nat West Trophy Nottinghamshire Derby Lost  
13 1988 Benson and Hedges Cup Middlesex Derby Won Losing Finalists
14 1988 Nat West Trophy Hampshire Derby Lost  
15 1992 Benson and Hedges Cup Kent Canterbury Lost  
16 1993 Benson and Hedges Cup Somerset Taunton Won Winners
17 1994 Benson and Hedges Cup Worcestershire Derby Lost  
18 1994 Nat West Trophy Kent Derby Lost  
19 1995 Nat West Trophy Warwickshire Derby Lost  
20 1996 Nat West Trophy Lancashire Old Trafford Lost  
21 1997 Nat West Trophy Sussex Derby Lost  
22 1998 Nat West Trophy Surrey The Oval Won Losing Finalists
23 2003 Cheltenham & Gloucester Trophy Surrey Derby Won Losing Semi-Finalists
24 2005 Twenty20 Cup Lancashire Old Trafford Lost  
25 2014 Royal London One Day Cup Nottinghamshire Trent Bridge Lost  
26 2017 Nat West T20 Blast Hampshire Derby Lost  
27 2019 T20 Vitality Blast Gloucestershire Bristol Won Losing Semi-Finalists
28 2022 T20 Vitality Blast Somerset Taunton    

England return to The Incora County Ground – tickets on sale now!

Heather Knight’s England side are aiming to extend their unbeaten streak in Derby with T20s against South Africa and India this summer.

Buy Tickets
Match Result:
Sat 09 Jul 2022
The Cooper Associates County Ground
Derbyshire Falcons
Derbyshire Falcons
Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners