Falcons unchanged for festival opener

Saturday 4th July 2015
Written by Danny Painter

Graeme Welch has named an unchanged 12-man squad as Derbyshire Falcons take on Northamptonshire Steelbacks in the NatWest T20 Blast at Queen’s Park tomorrow; 2.30pm start.

The game marks the start of the Autoworld Volvo XC90 Chesterfield Festival of Cricket, in association with Chesterfield Borough Council.

The festival is now in it’s tenth successive year and will also feature an LV= County Championship fixture against Glamorgan, as well as the visit of Yorkshire Vikings in the NatWest T20 Blast.

The Falcons have named the same 11 players for each of their last four NatWest T20 Blast fixtures and that trend could continue tomorrow.

Ben Cotton and Will Davis remain sidelined through injury.

DERBYSHIRE FALCONS squad to play Northamptonshire Steelbacks:
3. Wes Durston (capt)
72. Hamish Rutherford
22. Chesney Hughes
26. Ben Slater
57. Shiv Thakor
77. Wayne Madsen
18. Alex Hughes
10. Scott Elstone
23. Tom Poynton
27. Tom Knight
11. Wayne White
35. Nathan Rimmington


Northants have won four of their last five completed NatWest T20 Blast fixtures and sit in sixth place in the table, just one point behind third place with five matches remaining.

They will be without England all-rounder David Willey for this game after he suffered ankle ligament damage against Worcestershire Rapids a week ago, which is set to keep him out of action for a month.

The 2013 T20 winners will however be able to call on South Africa duo Richard Levi and Rory Kleinveldt, as well as all-rounder Josh Cobb who scored 84 off 56 balls in the defeat to Notts Outlaws last Saturday.

Muhammad Azharullah, who was a key member of the victorious Northants side of two years ago, is their leading wicket-taker this time around with 11 wickets an impressive average of 18.64.

NORTHAMPTONSHIRE STEELBACKS squad to face Derbyshire Falcons:

Wakely*, Azharullah, Cobb, Crook, Duckett, Keogh, Kleinveldt, Levi, Rossington+, Stone, White, Zaib.


Supporters who buy their tickets 24 hours in advance of the game will save £4 per adult ticket purchased. Best value for adults, however, can be found through one of our popular Six Pack Tickets which grants entry to any six days of cricket for just £72.

New for 2015 is the ‘Double the Action Ticket’ that allows supporters to attend two successive fixtures for just £25. This can be purchased online or over the phone.

Bring your mates and save with out group discount offer when you buy 10 or more tickets in one transaction. For more information, please call 0871 350 1870.

Supporters can watch the remainder of the 2015 season for just £95 with our Half Season Ticket, which grants entry to the Club’s remaining 26 days of home cricket at The 3aaa County Ground and Queen’s Park, Chesterfield this summer for as little as £3.70 a day.

The ticket includes entry to all six days of the Autoworld Volvo XC90 Chesterfield Festival of Cricket, in association with Chesterfield Borough Council.


Directions & Parking 

First time to Queen’s Park? Click here for Directions and Car Parking information>>

Due to building work, limited parking will still be available, signposted on Boythorpe Road, to those in possession of a parking pass or parking ticket. This will be on a first come, first serve basis.

The Club has also secured 140 extra car parking spaces at Wallis Barracks; Boythorpe Road, Chesterfield, Derbyshire S40 2NH. This will be open to supporters to pay on the gate, priced at £5. This will again be on a first come, first serve basis.

The Club would advise supporters to plan their journeys in advance of the day and give plenty of time to arrive at the ground. Supporters without a parking pass are encouraged to make their own parking arrangements, with a number of public car parks available in the immediate vicinity of the ground, or make full use of public transport available in the area.

Local Public Car Park

  • New Beetwell Street – This car park, which has 465 spaces, will be open until 7:30pm after each fixture at this summer’s festival. Click HERE for more information.


Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners