Falcons unchanged for Yorkshire clash

Saturday 11th July 2015
Written by Danny Painter

Graeme Welch has named an unchanged 13-man squad for the SOLD OUT NatWest T20 Blast fixture versus Yorkshire Vikings at Chesterfield tomorrow (2.30pm start), sponsored by BRM Solicitors.

The game marks the final fixture of the Autoworld Volvo XC90 Chesterfield Festival of Cricket, in association with Chesterfield Borough Council.

A sell-out crowd will be in attendance for the eagerly-anticipated local derby as The Falcons look to bounce back from Friday night’s agonising two-run to defeat to Notts Outlaws at Trent Bridge.

Hamish Rutherford and Wayne Madsen both hit half-centuries, while Shiv Thakor recorded his best T20 bowling figures but it wasn’t enough to complete what would have been a double over James Taylor’s side.

Bowlers Ben Cotton and Will Davis, meanwhile, have recently stepped up their return from injury by taking part in fitness sessions as well as starting to bowl again.

DERBYSHIRE FALCONS squad to play Yorkshire Vikings:
3. Wes Durston (capt)
72. Hamish Rutherford
22. Chesney Hughes
26. Ben Slater
77. Wayne Madsen
1. Billy Godleman
18. Alex Hughes
10. Scott Elstone
57. Shiv Thakor
23. Tom Poynton
27. Tom Knight
14. Greg Cork
35. Nathan Rimmington


Yorkshire have it all to do if they are to qualify from the North Group and take their place in the Quarter Finals of this year’s NatWest T20 Blast.

Four victories and a tie from their 10 fixtures have left the Vikings with a mountain to climb, with Andrew Gale’s men in need of a string of victories in their final four matches.

Yorkshire include two Australia World Cup winners in their squad in the shape of powerful opening batsman Aaron Finch and flamboyant all-rounder Glenn Maxwell, as well as England international Jonny Bairstow.

But batsmen Adam Lyth, Gary Ballance and Joe Root are unavailable due to their participation in the Ashes series.

Young seam bowler Matt Fisher will be hoping for a repeat performance of the reverse fixture between the two sides, where he took five wickets to earn his side victory.

YORKSHIRE VIKINGS squad to face Derbyshire Falcons:

Jonny Bairstow (wk), Tim Bresnan, Ben Coad, Aaron Finch, Matthew Fisher, Andrew Gale ©, Ryan Gibson, Jack Leaning, Alex Lees, Glenn Maxwell, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Will Rhodes, Josh Shaw

Matchday Information

Gates open at 12.00pm with play scheduled to get underway at 2.30pm.

1st Innings: 2.30pm – 3.45pm; Interval: 3.45pm – 4pm; 2nd Innings: 4pm – 5.15pm

Teams will be announced at the toss due to take place at 2pm.

Directions & Parking 

First time to Queen’s Park? Click here for Directions and Car Parking information>>

Due to building work, limited parking will still be available, signposted on Boythorpe Road, to those in possession of a parking pass or parking ticket. This will be on a first come, first serve basis.

The Club has also secured 140 extra car parking spaces at Wallis Barracks; Boythorpe Road, Chesterfield, Derbyshire S40 2NH. This will be open to supporters to pay on the gate, priced at £5. This will again be on a first come, first serve basis.

The Club would advise supporters to plan their journeys in advance of the day and give plenty of time to arrive at the ground. Supporters without a parking pass are encouraged to make their own parking arrangements, with a number of public car parks available in the immediate vicinity of the ground, or make full use of public transport available in the area.

Local Public Car Park

  • New Beetwell Street – This car park, which has 465 spaces, will be open until 7:30pm after each fixture at this summer’s festival. Click HERE for more information.

Travel News

Supporters can view all the latest travel news and updates around Chesterfield online HERE.

To find out more information about BRM Solicitors, please visit:

The fixture against Yorkshire Vikings at Queen’s Park, Chesterfield, is now SOLD OUT! 

Derbyshire Falcons take on Worcestershire Rapids in the NatWest T20 Blast at The 3aaa County Ground on Friday 17 July; 7pm start. Buy your matchday tickets in advance & save £4!


Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners