Greatest Derbyshire XI: The Pace-Bowling All-Rounders

Tuesday 14th January 2020
& News
Written by Stephen Martin

With the vote for Derbyshire’s Greatest XI open, we take a closer look at the candidates who could make the side. 

With more than 38,000 runs and 3,000 wickets between them, which of these four pace-bowling all-rounders get into your Derbyshire Greatest XI?

Dominic Cork (1990-2003)

Key stats: 8,862 runs, 740 wickets, 37 England caps.

Cork scored 8,862 and claimed 740 wickets for Derbyshire between 1990 and 2003, making five centuries and 26 five-wicket hauls. The England international’s high-score for the club was 200, and his best bowling figures were 9-43. He was captain for six season and won the 1993 Benson and Hedges Cup.

Derek Morgan (1950-1969)

Key stats: 18,202 runs, 1,239 wickets.

Morgan scored nine centuries for the club on his way to 18,202 runs, passing 1,000 runs in a season eight times. The all-rounder also took 1,239 wickets for Derbyshire, including 35 five-wicket hauls. He was captain for five seasons.

Alf Pope (1930-1939)

Key stats: 4,928 runs, 542 wickets.

Pope scored 4,928 runs for Derbyshire, including one century, and claimed 542 wickets with 21 five-wicket hauls and best figures of 7-84. He was part of the 1936 County Championship winning side.

George Pope (1933-1939)

Key stats: 6,806 runs, 567 wickets, one England cap

Pope’s 15 years with Derbyshire saw him score 6,806 runs, including eight centuries and a high-score of 207. He also took 100 wickets in a season twice and 32 five-wicket hauls on his way to 567 dismissals for the club. He was also a part of the 1936 County Championship winning side.

Heritage Officer and Statistician, David Griffin explains the process and the criteria for selection.

The structure of the XI is based on historical selection to ensure there is depth in batting, pace and spin bowling. Only one overseas player permitted, with the overseas player that receives the most votes being selected for the overall XI.

The 40 nominees have been selected based on their playing records for Derbyshire with a minimum of five seasons’ service. All statistical information given includes the individual’s performances in all formats of the game – first-class, List A and Twenty20 – up until the end of the 2019 season.

The candidates are listed in alphabetical order and all relevant statistical information is provided to assist with your decision-making.

Click HERE to vote for your Greatest XI.

Join us in 2020

Celebrate a historic 150th year of Derbyshire with 2020 Club Membership and experience the drama, emotion and action-packed home cricket for just £169.

Membership Categories Early Bird Full Price
2020 season Until 31st Jan From 1st Feb
Club Membership £169 £189
Junior Membership £20 £20
Age 16-21/Student £55 £55
Pattonair Executive Club £495 £525
Pattonair Executive Club & Partner £725 £749
Car Park Pass £65 £65

You can enjoy all regular-season home cricket, as well as a host of other benefits such as FREE entry to selected County Championship fixtures at other counties and discounts with 2020 Club Membership for just £169.

But act fast, as the early bird price is only available until Friday 31 January, so buy now to save £20.

Join us in 2020! Derbyshire County Cricket Club celebrates its historic 150-year Anniversary in 2020 and you can be part of a full summer of cricket with Club Membership. Packages on sale now from £169 if purchased before February.

Buy Membership

Principal Partner & Ground Sponsor
Official Partners